Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup

Rating:
(3.541 out of 5)
(
3.5
 out of 
5
)
(61 Reviews) 54
61 Reviews  (39 out of 61(64%) customers recommend this product to a friend.)
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Review 1 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
mindypie
Location: Columbus, OH
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Love it!
Date:October 13, 2012
I never wear foundation. Ever. I'm 36 n have clear, even skin so I don't really feel like I need it. I got this to set concealer, eyeliner n my blush. It keeps me from looking oily n sets my makeup w/o feeling like a mask. U can't feel it at all. I don't use the powder foundation brush with it, I use the loose powder brush. I wear it almost every day n it lasts til bedtime.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5)
AdrienneB
Location: Peoria, IL
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
New Shade
Date:October 18, 2012
I just ordered the new double wear shade 1C1 cool bone which replaced the shade 1C1 shell. I think the new shade has better coverage but it is a bit darker and has more of a "warm" tone than "cool" so I wish they had not replaced the old shade. I have used the double wear liquid foundation for years and recently switched to the powder compact to save time in the morning. The powder is not as matte as the liquid and seems to make my skin appear oily and oxidizes a bit throughout the day and changes color slightly. Overall this is a great produt that lasts all day with good coverage and a smooth finish
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
Anonymous2
I recommend this product
Still a Staple in My Makeup Bag....
Date:October 18, 2012
I was tempted to give up on this powder foundation when my color (Linen) was recently discontinued.
Fortunately, after much trial and error, it appears that the new version of the color Ecru is a pretty good substitute for Linen, at least so far.
I'm relieved because I really like this powder, which I wear over Time Zone moisturizer and a little Double Wear Concealer. It's fragrance free, isn't too drying, and does a good job of evening out my skin tone.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5)
ccccc
Location: Boston,A
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
disappointed
Date:November 5, 2012
This foundation does not last. I wanted this to wear alone on great skin days. Or to be used to touch up my make up on greasy days. This does not last and the powder looks patchy. It did not match my skin tone.
When I used it to touch up, later I would see myself in the mirror and be frustrated that it did not last or where it did last the color did not match. For the price this is not worth it.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
theminimom
Location: Manassas, VA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Love this compact powder foundation!
Date:December 13, 2012
I have bought this product repeatedly. so quick and easy to put on. Full coverage. Great for touch-ups later in the day also. Controls oil. Doesn't last quite as long as liquid foundation, but it's easy to reapply for evening if need be.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
Scarletta
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
I do not recommend this product
Changed color
Date:December 19, 2012
I did not know they had changed the color I used (Fresco) until I had already thrown away the box that I could return it in & wore it for several hours. Nothing at all like the previous color I wore. Looked on the bottom & voila, new numbers. I am stuck with a shade I can't wear now. VERY disappointed.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5)
Lane
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Disappointed in changes
Date:January 13, 2013
I used to wear Shell (1C1), but have recently found that it has been replaced by Cool Bone (1C1). While both shades are similar, Cool Bone is a little darker and does not match my skin tone as well. I have tried tried two others (Ivory Nude and Ecru), but neither one is a good match for me either. I love the Double Wear Powder Foundation, but since I now cannot find a good color replacement, it looks as if I am going to have to look elsewhere. I am really disappointed in this because I have been an Estee Lauder customer for a long time and really like many of their products. I wish they would bring back the old formulas. I do not understand changing something that works!
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5)
Kellae
Location: Prunedale, Ca
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Favorite day makeup
Date:January 19, 2013
Best For day wear
I wear only moisturizer and this instead of a cream base and my skin is glowing and flawless. I have dozens of freckles that blend well with this and people never believe I'm actually wearing powder. My trick is a light spritzing of water after application and it sets a smooth and glowing look!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
Angi
Location: PA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Do not like new formula
Date:February 11, 2013
I have been using this powder since it first came out. I wore the 1C1 Shell. However, the new color Cool Bone does not match my skin tone AT ALL. On the recommendation of the consultant, I tried the 1N1 Ecru. It matches okay but not exactly. I don't know what changed in the formula, however, it does not give me the flawless even matte coverage I am used to. I am so disappointed. Why ruin something so great!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5)
mantha
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
WAS the best ever
Date:February 13, 2013
Best For if you want simple
i used fresco 2n2 01 for a long time. this single mom loved that i could put in on in a minute and be done. but they recoded the numbers, they CLAIM it is the same, but it isn't. still a good product, but now my color change equivalent is orange and to dark (my equivalent is C3fresco) and it is "cakey" like on my face once it gets settled. its not the same, so im going to try and find something else. never fails, when you find something good, the company will change it on you. bring back the old please.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
wlwentz
Location: Arlington, TX
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
USED TO BE the best!!!
Date:February 21, 2013
I am so disappointed that EL has decided to take an excellent product & change it so drastically. The new formula DOES NOT cover as well. And the colors are TERRIBLE! I have stayed with EL for 15+ years because of the wonderful shade Fresco 2N2. (which I understand was the #1 selling shade) It was a perfect match. I am on my 3RD purchase trying to find something that works, but so far nothing! Everything is orange or dark. I really didn't want to have to look for a new brand, but looks like I do not have a choice. PLEASE, PLEASE bring back the originial formula & the original shades!!!!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
BlondeonPurpose
Location: Kentucky
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I do not recommend this product
WHY!!!!
Date:February 21, 2013
ESTEE LAUDER WHY WOULD YOU CHANGE A PRODUCT THAT WAS PERFECT. IF IT ISN'T BROKE DON'T FIX IT. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA AND COLORS..!!!
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
Pity
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
Cannot believe you ruined a great product
Date:March 14, 2013
Best For was
I cannot believe you changed the fomula for this which was a great product.
You lost me
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
Yulia
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
So Disappointed !!!!!
Date:March 27, 2013
I used ''2N2 Fresco 01'' for already 4 years.
Now I purchased ''2C3 Fresco 01'' and it's
NOT THE SAME COLOR !!!
It's looks terrible: yellowish and orange color on my face.
I am going to return this product and ask to refund my money !
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
sailboat
Location: Winter Springs,Fl.
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
best & easy makeup
Date:April 18, 2013
This is the best powder makeup. I have used this for 15 years. It goes on so smooth and it never cakes up. It also lasts all day. I think its the best.
Review 16 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
FORREAL
Location: London KY
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
So So SO SO SO So SAD!
Date:May 9, 2013
Best For no good for nothing now
So unbelieveable sad that my favorite product ever is gone. I have used it for years. It was the one make up product I could always count on. I just can't imagine why the company has made this decision. It is heartbreaking to start looking for a new foundation and powder. Miss it so much
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
OliversMom
Location: Illinois
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I do not recommend this product
Bring back Fresco 2n2
Date:May 12, 2013
So disappointed to buy my usual Fresco shade and find its darker and the color is off. I've worn Fresco for almost 10 yrs and I'm so sad now to have to find a new foundation.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
SkinTrouble
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age35 - 44
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I do not recommend this product
Not as good as the old one
Date:May 13, 2013
I love the previous version of the Double Wear Stay-in-Place powder. I purchased the new version thinking it would be the same quality. I was sadly disappointed. This product is much different and caused my face to break out. I am hoping there is some old product on the grey market!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
paubes
Location: New Albany, IN
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
The negative reviews were correct
Date:May 28, 2013
I have worn and loved this powder for years. It covered beautifully and gave a flawless finish. I could not believe the reviews were so negative. Then I tried the new version. This version is orange, streaky and I feel my face looks dirty. It reminds me of cheap drugstore powder.
Back to the search for the perfect powder. I will not order this again.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
AnonymousAnonymous
Location: New York, NY
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I do not recommend this product
Re: If it ain't broke, don't fix it
Date:May 31, 2013
I reviewed the Double Wear Foundation back in December and was elated to discover that due to the negative reaction, Estee Lauder has decider to return the Shell shade for the foundation. However, I discovered today that they will not be doing so for the Double Wear Powder. I actually wear more of the powder than the foundation, and have decided to review this product with the same review I have the foundation to get my point across.
"I generally do not write product reviews, but I decided to venture out of my comfort zone and share my two cents with the hope that maybe it would foster the impetus for change or at least the return of the Shell color.
I'm of Irish descent -so my skin tone is quite on the lighter side with mild pink undertones. The 1C1 Shell was the perfect match and the perfect make-up. The coverage was not only substantial and long-lasting, but unless someone were inspecting my face with a magnifying glass, the color difference between the make-up and my skin was barely noticeable. It really is quite a daunting task for fair skinned people to find make-up that not only conceals well but also matches their skin tone.
The new replacement, 1C1 Cool Bone is much too dark and much too red/orange and simply pales in comparison to the old 1C1 Shell. It neither does justice for the old 1C1 Shell color nor is it an adequate match for my skin or any other person with fair skin. As for the formulation, I don't mind it -albeit I find it to be quite a bit more opaque and heavier with the a slight tendency for uneven coating and spotting.
I personally love Estee Lauder's products and I find their quality superior to all other brands. I really did love the Shell, and I can see that many other customers did as well. Its return would be most appreciated and celebrated. So in the end, I may have to explore my options with other companies. Again, I really love Estee Lauder, but I can't go around looking like an Oompa Loompa."
So thank you Estee Lauder for returning the Shell for the foundation but as they are a set, I may need to still explore other options and make-up brands because it was the powder that I was most fond of and relied on. Your Shell Powder truly was the perfect product and I am greatly sadden that it will not be returning along with the foundation.
26 of 27 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next»