Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(3.087 out of 5)
(
3.1
 out of 
5
)
(668 Reviews) 653
 351 out of 66853%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 121 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
nanbrown
Location: Denver, CO
Age65 - 74
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2014
stays on all day
This makeup stays on all day and covers completely
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
mrraine
Location: Harrison, AR
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
so glad I found this makeup
after struggling with other brands of makeup, I am so glad I found Estee Lauder double wear. now I look polished everyday!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
jessid90
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Need light shades!!!!
I absolutely love this foundation but I have been waiting for months for the 1C0 shell to be in stock because it keeps saying "coming soon" and now it doesn't show up at all! I currently use 1C1 Cool Bone, but I have to mix sooooo much white foundation in it that I have basically stopped using it. I am very disappointed that such a great foundation does not come in lighter colors. Not everyone has a medium-colored skin tone! Please bring back Shell!!!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Stac
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Double Wear Shell 1C0 Discontinued???
I have used this product for many years. The shade I used was Shell 1C0. It is now discontinued. The suggested replacement Cool Bone is too light. Why would you discontinue a product which in my local area is a very popular shade? I have been a customer for 20+ years, I have tried other Estee Lauder shades and nothing so far is acceptable. You will likely lose a customer of many years. If something is not broke then don't fix it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Ivory
Location: Chicago, IL
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Were are all the pale colors going??
Double Wear has been my holy grail for some time because it was the only foundation that lasts all day and offered colors light enough for my very pale skin. BUT, over the last couple of years EL has discontinue all of the truly light shades (Please listen to me, EL: 1N1 and 1W1 are nowhere near light!). I've been making 1C1 Cool Bone work, although even it is too dark, but now that color has been "out of stock" for some time now. Is "out of stock" code for discontinued?!? Plus, EL said on Facebook that they were bringing back Shell, but that has yet to happen. As another reviewer said, pale people still exist!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
LuvstoShop
Location: Southwestern Colorado
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Why Do Companies Change the Colors?
I can never figure out why makeup companies change the formulations and don't make the EXACT color match to the old product. Please bring back 1c1 Shell 15. We fair gals need that color match again. I don't need to look orange or pasty. Please take note of all these negative reviews. It isn't a good thing to lose loyal customers.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Rico
Location: Janesville Wisconsin
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Changed the formula
Best For: coverage
I am very disappointed with you EL. What happened with Double Matte oil control foundation? And you discontinued the Double Matte Oil Control pressed powder as well! I have been using these products for several years and I cannot find it anymore. I love to use these two en summer time because they simple control the shine on my face. Please bring them back; now that the summer is approaching I do not have any make up left. Please bring them back.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
shaem
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
great foundation, but where are the light shades?
This is the best foundation I have ever used. Even after the formula change, I still love it. However, now the lightest shades are unavailable, including shell 1C0 that was brought back. What is going on Estee Lauder? Pale people still exist and need makeup too. Please, please, please bring back shell or atleast keep cool bone in stock!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Brenn
Location: Lawrenceville,Ga
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014
Why?
Dear Estee Lauder,
Please bring back the Shell Double Wear 1c1.Went to the counter and to my horror and disbelief was told my foundation color that I've been wearing for( it must be) 15 years has been discontinued.I don't understand why.It ruined my whole day to find this out.The new colors don't even come close.PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE bring our colors and original formula back. Also missed out on the Gift With Purchase because of this nightmare. What a Lasting disappointment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Birdwife
Location: Idaho
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
Pretty good
I don't live close to a mall where I could go in and have the sales lady match me a foundation to my skin, I ordered mine online. I was worried it wouldn't match, but when it came it was a perfect match! I'm so happy! I ordered dawn 2w1. I have a yellow undertone and olive skin. I looked at the color choices for weeks contemplating which would be best. Lol. I think it's a miracle it was actually a match! The foundation has a paint like smell to it which I thought was odd. As for the coverage it's pretty awesome, better than a drug store foundation for sure. I put it on without concealer to see the coverage. I have a few acne scars and some regular acne and it covered them well but not 100%. They wouldn't be noticeable to anyone else but me though, just because I know where they are and am looking for them. So all in all I love it and it's a keeper. I read the other reviews that a lot of people didn't like the new formula, I haven't used it before so I can't vouch for that. So wi that said I say the new formula is still pretty awesome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
docgresh
Age65 - 74
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Limited colors that don't work
I was also a user of the old formulas. After hours of trying various stores to see if I could find the old shades, I gave up. The new colors are quite limited and no longer give me a match. Very disappointed..am going to have to find a new product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Caroljean
Location: West Allis, WI
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Finally found the right foundation make-up!
Best For: anyone
For many years I tried different brands of make-up to find the right coverage and tone for my face. When I received a sample of the Double Wear by Estee Lauder I knew I was done searching. Double Wear has perfect coverage for all day wear and is never heavy looking or cakey (is that a word?). Loved having it sent to my home with no postage or handling fee too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
wasyourbiggestfan
Location: Louisville, Ky
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
bring back the old formula
Best For: nothing
I have worn your double wear makeup for tens years or longer now there is nothing double wear about it if you are looking for a new formula try finding the discontinued formula that elizabeth arden use to have called flawless
Guess I'm going to have to start all over looking for another makeup it's not worth ten dollars yet alone $40
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
PositiveEnergy
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Bring back the old formula!
I have been a loyal Estee Lauder customer for 40 years and I have used this foundation in excess of 20 years and have always felt it was THE BEST ever. The coverage, staying power, non-transfer and shades were fantastic. However, the new formula and shades leave much to be desired. I will continue to purchase it but please bring back the old formula! The old formula would definitely have gotten five stars from me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Yolamrob
Location: Los Angeles
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Very disappointing
I loved the previous make up, which is no longer available, so the salesperson recommended I try this one. It is double thick, but does not cover as nicely as the other one. I wouldn't recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
silversenior
Location: Boxford, MA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2014
Best Foundation
As a mature woman, I have used several foundations. I have never used the old Double Wear formula, but I can't imagine how it could be better than the new. This is the best foundation I have ever purchased. It has great buildable coverage (I have rosacea), doesn't settle into fine lines and pores, looks fresh all day, no breakouts (I have very sensitive skin); and the Fresco is a perfect match for my light complexion. I have received many complements on how beautiful my makeup looks. Hope this formula doesn't change!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Anonymous1965
Location: North Carolina
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2014
I Love This Foundation
Best For: people who don't like to touch up their makeup!
I can't believe how many negative reviews there are of this product. It's awesome! I apply it at 6:00 every morning, and at 9 PM it still looks perfect without a single touch-up. You do need to blend this product quickly, so I do a small section of my face at a time using a makeup sponge. Also, kudos to EL for having such a large selection of shades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Fan4Life
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2014
Best foundation ever!
I've been using Tawny Double Wear for about 5 years and I would never try another foundation. It really does stay in place and looks totally natural.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Renz
Location: Madison,WI
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014
Why did you change the shades????
After a lot of trail and error, I was very happy with 5N1 Softan shade in Double Wear makeup. It suited my skin tone, stayed longer and looked natural. Now, Estee Lauder decided to do away with this shade, and none of the new ones match my skin tone! I purchased the new softan 4C3, which is way too dark! I'm very very disappointed that Estee Lauder let down their loyal customers this way!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Nurse85
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
my holy grail foundation!!!
Best For: Oily Skin, long wearing, flawless finish :-)
I have been a faithful customer of Estée Lauder for 3 years now. Yes they have taken the SPF out, but the foundation is still the same. This is the best foundation ever for me. I have tried many high end brands, but this one is the BEST! As seasons change so does my skin color. The Estée Lauder girls always gave me several samples first until I find my color. Now I know what my summer and winter colors are. This foundation definitely stands up to its name. I never had any outbreak from this foundation. Thank you Estée Lauder for making this beautiful long wearing product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.