Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(2.97 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(623 Reviews) 609
 308 out of 62349%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 121 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
NotAFan
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Age35 - 44
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
Stay Away!
Warning to anyone who previously purchased Double Matte (which was discontinued) and was told that Double Wear was an excellent replacement. It's not true! I wasted money on this product. The coverage is not good, and the consistency is thinner than Double Matte. I will never understand why companies discontinue what appear to be popular items. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS IN PLACE OF DOUBLE MATTE.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
buttefly
Location: Amarillo Texas
Age55 - 64
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
5
This is the best foundation I have ever used. It wears wonderfully. Long wearing and it makes your face look really good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
lipstick
Location: Ct.
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Great Foundation
This foundation is one of the best I have used. It does not settle in fine lines snd wrinkles, stays on all day and does not change color. The coolbone is the color I use. My skin is fair with pink undertones and this gives me just enough color without looiking artificial. I have had difficulty color matching my skintone and have found this one to be just right. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
writestuff323
Location: Dubuque, IA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Missing my old favorite, 1C1 Shell 15
I LOVED your old DW Stay-In-Place Makeup, but I am VERY disappointed by your new formula. I am extremely fair, and the old 1C1 Shell 15 was the BEST foundation I'd ever used. When the saleswoman informed me that you'd stopped making it, and suggested another color (Cool Bone), I tried it, but it isn't the same. The color is different, as well as the feel of the make-up. Had I known, I'd have purchased more than just the one extra bottle of my favorite the last time I was at the cosmetics counter. I am so sad . . . please bring back "my" color . . .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
adh1006
Location: MS
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2013
Too drying
I am still on the search for the perfect foundation for me. After reading countless reviews, I thought this would be the one, but I was wrong. It begins to dry as soon as you apply it to your skin so if you don't blend quickly, you'll have dry streaks on your face. The coverage isn't full, it's more of a medium coverage, and if you apply more it will give you that too-much makeup look. Also, for this to be called "Double Wear", it wears away pretty quickly. I will apply it, then in a few hours I check a mirror and it has worn off in places. Once this foundation sets, it makes your skin look dry and cracked and it feels tight. Another thing I didn't like is that the foundation didn't even come with a pump. I had to spend more money to buy a foundation pump (which fit the EL bottle perfectly) to get the foundation out of the glass bottle. In all, this was a huge letdown.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Toni808
Location: Austin, TX
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2013
Great but not as full coverage anymore
I've been using this foundation for peobably 3 years now and I'm still quite happy with this product. However, as others have noted, the formula has changed. I still find that I have a great color match but its not as full coverage as it once was. In my opinion, I'd say it was medium coverage. I miss the old formula but the new formula works fine for me too. I just need to add concealer to get the look I want. With the old formula, concealer wasn't necessary.
This product dries quickly so work with it fast in sections. I've never had luck with the EL foundation brush so I use either a sponge or clean fingers and work fast. I find the staying power is still quite long however, my face has become more oily over the last year. At the moment, I'm searching for a primer to get my oil at bay that will work with this foundation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MaryJane782000
Location: Springfield, Il
Age35 - 44
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013
Bring back old colors & formula!!
Use to Love this foundation but you lost me as a customer when you changed it. The old color I used 4w1 Shell Beige 05 doesnt match up to any of the new colors. Plus sunscreen is important.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Laura520
Location: Maryland
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
WHY?!
Best For: nobody
I'm so tired of makeup companies changing their formulas, and forcing me to hunt down a good foundation again and again. Double Wear has been changed. The ingredient list on the box is completely different from what I used to buy. The old formula was wonderful and made me look and feel incredible. The new formula has ruined the skin under my eyes. Drying out the skin till I look like the "crypt keeper" under my eyes. I am 44 years old with mostly oily skin, but this formulas is too drying. I'm done with Estée Lauder!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
NewUser2
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
I like this foundation!
After reading many negative reviews about this product, I felt compelled to write a positive review! First off I will mention that I never tried the old formulation of this foundation therefore I cannot comment on it. Also, this is the first EL product that I have ever purchased. I bought this after trying a sample of it for a couple of weeks. My skin type is very oily (with a couple of dry patches on occasion), acne prone with mild rosacea and areas of hyper pigmentation. When I first wore this foundation I loved the coverage but my face looked like I was wearing a mask. I tried it again using much less product and blending it out really well. Application is key to using this foundation. It does dry quickly so I do half my face first and then do the other half. I ensure my face is properly prepped to avoid emphasizing any dry patches. What I love about this foundation is that it lasts forever, doesn't oxidize, doesn't give me a "muddy" look if I get oily, hasn't broken me out and it covers my pigmentation. My shade is Rattan which is good for my yellow undertone skin. Because my skin can get very oily, other foundations I tried in the past darkened throughout the day. This is the only one I tried that didn't do that! This foundation is really great for my skin type and needs.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Mollyf
Location: Alabama
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2013
Really lasts all day
Best For: lasts, coverage, nautral
I was looking for a foundation that lasts all day and really feel in love with this one! I've tried lots of other foundations and none of them delivered like this one has. I live in Alabama and this foundation lasts all day long even with high humidity. If you are looking for a foundation that lasts all day please try this one.I also don't know why everyone is complaining about the color, I found a shade that matches me perfectly!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Happychels
Location: Ohio
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
I love it
I have tried the old and new and love them both. I did have to change my color but there are many choices so it wasn't hard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Jersey08
Location: Vineland, New Jersey
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
#1 greatest Foundation
Best For: everyday
I always used this foundation in the color "softan". Then I just felt I needed a color change, I actually tried another famous brand foundation who claims they have a 24 hour foundation. NOT SO! That foundation is not even in the same class as Estée Lauder, and it cost more. So I realized I needed to get just a different color from EL and after a few minutes on a live chat with a EL rep. They guided me to use "spiced sand" and I could not be happier with the color. And Estée Lauder's formula can NOT be beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Marie12
Location: Missouri
Age25 - 34
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2013
Bring back the old colors!
For 6 yrs Ive recommended this to anyone who was looking for a foundation because it was so full coverage, light, and long wearing BUT bring back 1c1 shell! 1c1 cool bone is a totally different shade!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
lynlove11
Location: Clarksville, TN
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Love this foundation!
I've tried loads of different foundations, drugstore & high end. I always go back to Double Wear. It's beautiful, soft, natural & has amazing coverage. I find it works best when I lightly apply a sheer first coat & go in with another light second coat. I don't need two coats, but I prefer it because of my blemishes. Although it's a little costly, I think it's a fair price. Especially with all the disappointment I've bumped into with all the other foundations I've tried. Use sparingly & this foundation will last you a very long time.
When I wear this foundation, I receive a lot of compliments on how I look quite lovely & like I'm glowing. Nothing quite like a product that makes you feel 100%
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
GGeorge
Location: Davis, CA
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2013
My favorite color is back!
I had used this makeup for years in Shell and then that color was discontinued so I switched to Cool Bone. It was OK but not the same as Shell. The color Shell is now back and it is the same as it used to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
fitmom22
Location: USA
Age25 - 34
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013
Double MATTE needs to come back NOT "Double Wear"
Ok after reading up to 30 pages of reviews Im confused.Double Wear came out about 6 yrs ago. IM More upset double MATTE has been discontinued :( I've tried both. WEAR was ok. MATTE was GODSEND!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
farmec77
Location: stockbridge, GA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013
I'm sure it is a new formula
Best For: normal-combo skin with invisible pores no wrinkle
I had this foundation a long time ago, like 5 years, in Germany, and I bought it again in 2013 in USA. It is definitely a new formula. It dry very fast so you need to work quickly to blend it.
The foundation goes in the fine lines and pores after 4 hours and I m only 36 with almost no wrinkle and decent pore size. I only wanted to even my skin, that is it. My skin is the same, combo but this foundation has changed.
Estee Lauder, bring back the new formula please!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
suulo
Location: Sparta Michigan
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2013
Long Lasting make -up
I have been purchasing this makeup for over 10 years. The coverage is great and stays on all day. Also great price, one bottle last me over 3 months.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
SHahn
Location: Florida
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2013
Change is horrible
I have used this foundation for so long that I can not remember using anything else. I loved it and it made my skin look flawless. I recommended it to everyone. However, ever since you change the foundation formula/color I have been so very disappointed. I am struggling to find a new color that matches my skin tone and the new formula is just NOT providing the same coverage. I'm so disappointed that I have begun the dreaded search for a new foundation. Please consider going back to the old formula/colors. My makeup use to look flawless thanks to your foundation now it's just like any other foundation on the market. Very disappointed!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Solaris
Location: Switzerland
Age45 - 54
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2013
Double Wear Max.Cover Camouflage
For a long time I am a loyal customer of Ester Lauder products.
From birth I have a large area birthmark on my face and have finally found a product that covers my suffering well.
Unfortunately, it was pulled back Double Wear No. 09. Why?
It is not more to the beauty as such. There are women and men have the compex skin problems and rely on such products. And these are just drawn back! Not good!
I ask the researcher and production to bring the time-tested product back on the market.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.