Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(3.003 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(634 Reviews) 620
 319 out of 63450%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 121 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
JessicaC67
Location: Provo, utah
Age18 - 24
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
When is shell coming back?
when is Shell is coming back?? I currently wear 1n1 ivory nude and I need something lighter and a better tone to match my fair skin. Has anyone been able to find shell or know when it is coming out?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
TatsianaV
Location: CA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
It's my favorite make-up!!!!
Ladies, if you find correct tone and you know how to put make up- it's the best by quality and by price!!! I'm just thinking if I'm not in USA I'm going to be at home, HOW can I buy real one, because everywhere you can find fake product. I buy in duty-free, it's real, natural tone of your skin and price is the best!!!! If you don't know how to put make up- it's your problem, sign up for the course, but you cannot say anything wrong about this product, the best!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Steely
Location: Middletown, MD
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Yuk!
What happened to this foundation? No one color even comes close to my skin tone so I can't use it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
puppy
Location: Fredericton, NB
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Conceals and evens skintone without looking cakey
BEST foundation I've ever used!! It covers up any redness on my face and gives my skin a radiant glow. I can put a lot on and it won't "cake"..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Ellak
Location: Orange County, CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
What happened?
I've been using this foundation and just tried this new formula. Yikes, this is no longer my favorite. The foundation looks yellow on me now and dries on so quickly. Please bring back the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
wasloyal
Location: Springfield MO
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Why Why Why
I have been a loyal customer to Estee Lauder for many years. I have worn Double Wear since 2001 and have loved it ever since. Worn Fresco and have always loved my skin. THEN I go to the estee lauder counter and my beloved foundation is gone. Now ever since I have been looking for something to replace it but nothing compares. Please! Please! Please bring back the old Double wear. I have been so bummed ever sense you changed it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Ellem
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Miss the Old Formula
Like everyone else, I really miss the old formula. The new formula doesn't cover as well as the old one did and my face stays oily through out the day and I constantly have to reapply.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MakeupJunky
Location: Port Washington, WI
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2014
Love the new formula and color!
Best For: full coverage, oil control, covering acne, flawless face
I used to use EL double wear years ago. I loved it, but always felt heavy like I was wearing make-up and a little bit of cake face. The coverage was phenomenal, but it's even better now! I bought Ecru, perfect neutral for my fair skin tone. Goes on more smoothly. The texture is a little thinner than before, but the coverage is still the same, goes on like butter! It dries down better than the previous formula, less sticky. Because it's less sticky, I feel that I don't need to powder my face at all with this new formula. It's quite wonderful, super light feeling with full coverage. I do have a lot of acne scars and hyper-pigmentation to cover. Well done EL! A change for the better!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
TeeTime
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014
Smoothest & Best Foundation Coverage
I have been looking for a new foundation that stays on but does not look or feel heavy and I finally found it with the Estée Double Wear. My skin feels smoother & I have received compliments from several of my friends about how good my make-up looks! I am extremely happy with not only the feel & the look but it is very easy to apply with my new Estée brush. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a new foundation. They won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
PJBaskin
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
The Perfect Foundation
Use the EL Matte Primer and a good moisturizer.
The foundation works well for mature combination skin. The color I selected is perfect for my medium brown skin. It looks very natural and provides a nice glow which makes me look younger. I use a sponge to apply the foundation. The coverage can be applied light, medium or full. Please do not change the formula. I am vey satisfied with the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
DRHedgewick
Location: Chicago, IL
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013
Love this foundation!!! Lasts all day!
Best For: combination to oily skin, longwear, sensitive/acne prone skin
This foundation is wonderful! I work 12 hour days and this foundation truly stays put all day, does not rub off on my coat or clothes, and covers beautifully. I wear 2W1 and it matches my skin perfectly. Does not oxidize, and stays matte. I have combination skin, so I do have to make sure to moisturize the drier parts of my face to ensure this foundation goes on smoothly. I have VERY sensitive skin that is prone to acne, and this does NOT make me break out. Love it, would highly recommend this foundation to anyone!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
NotAFan
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Age35 - 44
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
Stay Away!
Warning to anyone who previously purchased Double Matte (which was discontinued) and was told that Double Wear was an excellent replacement. It's not true! I wasted money on this product. The coverage is not good, and the consistency is thinner than Double Matte. I will never understand why companies discontinue what appear to be popular items. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS IN PLACE OF DOUBLE MATTE.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
buttefly
Location: Amarillo Texas
Age55 - 64
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
5
This is the best foundation I have ever used. It wears wonderfully. Long wearing and it makes your face look really good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
lipstick
Location: Ct.
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Great Foundation
This foundation is one of the best I have used. It does not settle in fine lines snd wrinkles, stays on all day and does not change color. The coolbone is the color I use. My skin is fair with pink undertones and this gives me just enough color without looiking artificial. I have had difficulty color matching my skintone and have found this one to be just right. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
writestuff323
Location: Dubuque, IA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Missing my old favorite, 1C1 Shell 15
I LOVED your old DW Stay-In-Place Makeup, but I am VERY disappointed by your new formula. I am extremely fair, and the old 1C1 Shell 15 was the BEST foundation I'd ever used. When the saleswoman informed me that you'd stopped making it, and suggested another color (Cool Bone), I tried it, but it isn't the same. The color is different, as well as the feel of the make-up. Had I known, I'd have purchased more than just the one extra bottle of my favorite the last time I was at the cosmetics counter. I am so sad . . . please bring back "my" color . . .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
adh1006
Location: MS
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2013
Too drying
I am still on the search for the perfect foundation for me. After reading countless reviews, I thought this would be the one, but I was wrong. It begins to dry as soon as you apply it to your skin so if you don't blend quickly, you'll have dry streaks on your face. The coverage isn't full, it's more of a medium coverage, and if you apply more it will give you that too-much makeup look. Also, for this to be called "Double Wear", it wears away pretty quickly. I will apply it, then in a few hours I check a mirror and it has worn off in places. Once this foundation sets, it makes your skin look dry and cracked and it feels tight. Another thing I didn't like is that the foundation didn't even come with a pump. I had to spend more money to buy a foundation pump (which fit the EL bottle perfectly) to get the foundation out of the glass bottle. In all, this was a huge letdown.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Toni808
Location: Austin, TX
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2013
Great but not as full coverage anymore
I've been using this foundation for peobably 3 years now and I'm still quite happy with this product. However, as others have noted, the formula has changed. I still find that I have a great color match but its not as full coverage as it once was. In my opinion, I'd say it was medium coverage. I miss the old formula but the new formula works fine for me too. I just need to add concealer to get the look I want. With the old formula, concealer wasn't necessary.
This product dries quickly so work with it fast in sections. I've never had luck with the EL foundation brush so I use either a sponge or clean fingers and work fast. I find the staying power is still quite long however, my face has become more oily over the last year. At the moment, I'm searching for a primer to get my oil at bay that will work with this foundation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MaryJane782000
Location: Springfield, Il
Age35 - 44
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013
Bring back old colors & formula!!
Use to Love this foundation but you lost me as a customer when you changed it. The old color I used 4w1 Shell Beige 05 doesnt match up to any of the new colors. Plus sunscreen is important.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Laura520
Location: Maryland
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
WHY?!
Best For: nobody
I'm so tired of makeup companies changing their formulas, and forcing me to hunt down a good foundation again and again. Double Wear has been changed. The ingredient list on the box is completely different from what I used to buy. The old formula was wonderful and made me look and feel incredible. The new formula has ruined the skin under my eyes. Drying out the skin till I look like the "crypt keeper" under my eyes. I am 44 years old with mostly oily skin, but this formulas is too drying. I'm done with Estée Lauder!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
NewUser2
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
I like this foundation!
After reading many negative reviews about this product, I felt compelled to write a positive review! First off I will mention that I never tried the old formulation of this foundation therefore I cannot comment on it. Also, this is the first EL product that I have ever purchased. I bought this after trying a sample of it for a couple of weeks. My skin type is very oily (with a couple of dry patches on occasion), acne prone with mild rosacea and areas of hyper pigmentation. When I first wore this foundation I loved the coverage but my face looked like I was wearing a mask. I tried it again using much less product and blending it out really well. Application is key to using this foundation. It does dry quickly so I do half my face first and then do the other half. I ensure my face is properly prepped to avoid emphasizing any dry patches. What I love about this foundation is that it lasts forever, doesn't oxidize, doesn't give me a "muddy" look if I get oily, hasn't broken me out and it covers my pigmentation. My shade is Rattan which is good for my yellow undertone skin. Because my skin can get very oily, other foundations I tried in the past darkened throughout the day. This is the only one I tried that didn't do that! This foundation is really great for my skin type and needs.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.