Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(3.037 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(648 Reviews) 634
 332 out of 64851%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 121 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Nurse85
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
my holy grail foundation!!!
Best For: Oily Skin, long wearing, flawless finish :-)
I have been a faithful customer of Estée Lauder for 3 years now. Yes they have taken the SPF out, but the foundation is still the same. This is the best foundation ever for me. I have tried many high end brands, but this one is the BEST! As seasons change so does my skin color. The Estée Lauder girls always gave me several samples first until I find my color. Now I know what my summer and winter colors are. This foundation definitely stands up to its name. I never had any outbreak from this foundation. Thank you Estée Lauder for making this beautiful long wearing product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Carmelina
Location: Washington D.C.
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
Please bring back the old Double Wear foundation
I have been a 20+ year user of Double Wear foundation. This used to be the perfect foundation until it was reformulated. The Soft Tan color is no longer a match for me…none of the colors are a match for me now. The new formula does not provide the same coverage. The new make-up does not have the same consistency and has caused break-outs on my skin. The new formula tends to come off and does not have the staying power like the old formula. Not to mention that the SPF has been removed from the reformulated makeup altogether. Please bring back the old formula/colors or you will continue to lose longtime loyal Estee Lauder customers. Like the many other loyal users of Double Wear I am extremely disappointed and hope that Estee Lauder brings back the holy grail of foundation that we all loved!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Makeuplover1023
Location: Mason. Ohio
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2014
Breing back the old DW!
I have been using the old DW foundation for many years and loved it and recommended it to all my friends as it was the first makeup for my oily, very pale skin that didn't change color throughout the day and stayed on and still looked fresh after 8 or more hours. I used Fresco 2N2. I was out of make up during the formula change and was colr tested and they gave me the new formula. I didn't know the SPF was gone. The color makes me look very pale and I had to have a sun damge spot frozen off my face too after using this for a year. Pleas bring back the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Nanabell
Location: Rural Texas
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
Super foundation
Being a lady in her seventies, no other foundation has the coverage and superb moisture for aging skin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
JoTaylor
Location: New York, NY
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Change Isn't Always A Good Thing
Best For: child's dress up
This product was a must-have to my everyday beauty routine. This foundation USED to make my skin appear so flawless, it looked photo shopped. Since the new change in the formula, you're better off going with no makeup at all to say the least.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
CatKitty
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2014
Great product
I am surprised about the quantity of negative reviews, although can understand that changing the colors would mean finding a new match in some cases. Years ago I used Ecru as the closest "match" to my skin. Problem was that about half way through the day my redness would peak through and the color would just look pasty and muddy on my skin. I went to the counter to be re-matched and we picked Sand to counteract my redness. I loved Sand, and was lucky that Sand is still Sand in the new formula. I sense that there might be a slight difference in color, but if so, the new color is actually better. I really like this long-lasting makeup. I don't have any issues with application but I apply an oil-free SPF moisturizer prior to applying the makeup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
SheLovesEL
Location: Charleston, SC
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2014
Prevents Shiny Nose and Lipstick Feathering
Best For: oily areas
Although I wear EL Resilience Lift on the rest of my face, I have found that Double Wear foundation is perfect for my nose to prevent shine and around the area of my lips to prevent lipstick feathering issues. It is a perfect match to my skin color, so I also wear it along my jaw line to prevent that embarrassing makeup line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
godinez
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
Beautiful foundation
I suffer from dry skin along with mild acne. This foundation really covers up all your imperfection. I love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
chrispriss
Location: houston, tx
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
Love it!
Best For: full coverage
I love this foundation and I have tried them all. I will wait until the summer to switch foundations so that I know it can handle TX heat. I have acne scarring, roseacea, and oily skin. I get a ton of complements. But you do need to understand how stay make up from any brand is different. You can't use a make up brush, it will destroy them unless you wash them every day. So I use a sponge. And throw it away after 2 days. I moisturize, prime and apply, I can fall asleep and look the same in the morning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
ChrissieAH
Location: Florida
Age65 - 74
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2014
Double wear foundation
Best For: staying power
I have worn this make up for several years, and love it. It genuinely stays on all day. however, having moved to USA from UK, I am very disappointed that I cannot get the shade, Outdoor Beige in this line. Please start doing this shade, as I can't even get one close to it over here. Although you do the shade in a different range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Carlyg
Age25 - 34
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014
Best foundation Ever!!
I have used this for years and it honestly stays in place all day! I won't ever switch I have used other products in the past and this is by far the best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Mamaof3
Location: Concord Ga
Age25 - 34
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014
Best stay in place all day foundation
I have extremely oily skin, therefore my makeup just seems to get blotted off is is simply absorbed by my skin, I found double wear and haven't had that problem ever again ! I love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
TrishaMarie
Location: Ohio
Age25 - 34
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014
Love! Love! Love!
I've used the old and new and have to say, I don't know what all the gripe is about. I absolutely love the coverage and how buildable it is. Stays all day, even through Zumba classes and work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
EsteeFanForYears
Location: FL
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Try again!
I too was very upset about the changes to Double Wear. I was a loyal customer of Double Wear in Shell, was 1C1. After many samples and visits at the EL counter, I found 1N1 Ivory Nude to be a great color, comparable to the Shell. So if you are debating your replacement color, give this one a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
JessicaC67
Location: Provo, utah
Age18 - 24
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
When is shell coming back?
when is Shell is coming back?? I currently wear 1n1 ivory nude and I need something lighter and a better tone to match my fair skin. Has anyone been able to find shell or know when it is coming out?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
TatsianaV
Location: CA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
It's my favorite make-up!!!!
Ladies, if you find correct tone and you know how to put make up- it's the best by quality and by price!!! I'm just thinking if I'm not in USA I'm going to be at home, HOW can I buy real one, because everywhere you can find fake product. I buy in duty-free, it's real, natural tone of your skin and price is the best!!!! If you don't know how to put make up- it's your problem, sign up for the course, but you cannot say anything wrong about this product, the best!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Steely
Location: Middletown, MD
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Yuk!
What happened to this foundation? No one color even comes close to my skin tone so I can't use it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
puppy
Location: Fredericton, NB
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Conceals and evens skintone without looking cakey
BEST foundation I've ever used!! It covers up any redness on my face and gives my skin a radiant glow. I can put a lot on and it won't "cake"..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Ellak
Location: Orange County, CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
What happened?
I've been using this foundation and just tried this new formula. Yikes, this is no longer my favorite. The foundation looks yellow on me now and dries on so quickly. Please bring back the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
wasloyal
Location: Springfield MO
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Why Why Why
I have been a loyal customer to Estee Lauder for many years. I have worn Double Wear since 2001 and have loved it ever since. Worn Fresco and have always loved my skin. THEN I go to the estee lauder counter and my beloved foundation is gone. Now ever since I have been looking for something to replace it but nothing compares. Please! Please! Please bring back the old Double wear. I have been so bummed ever sense you changed it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.