Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(3.003 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(634 Reviews) 620
 319 out of 63450%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 81 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
regwhit
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Awesome makeup but no color to match my skintone
I LOVED EL Double Wear. I got compliments all the time on how lovely my skin looked while I was wearing EL DW. Then EL changed the colors. I wore the lightest color that was offerred. Now with the new color scheme everything is too dark. I have horrible lines. I'm so disappointed because now I can't find a make-up to compare. Bring the old colors back please!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
KimmieNguyen
Location: Yukon
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014
Hit and miss
Best For: full coverage
I ordered this foundation in 2W1 Dawn but it came in 2W2 Ratten. It's probably too dark for me. But pass the unmatched color, it is quite a good foundation. It gives nice medium to full coverage, definite matte finish and super long lasting power. It stayed nearly the same during 15 hours on my super oily face when I was on my vacation to Saigon, Vietnam. You know the temperature was 90 F and humidity was 90% there.
BUT it does get in to my pores and causes me break out. I have been struggling to take it off my face at night. Even I have used my Clarisonic, I felt like it still sit on my face. And this foundation isn't the best for photography, all the pictures look like I have pale face with tan neck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
patm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014
Miss discontinued fundation---wrote to you already
The foundation I used went on easily and covered very well. This feels drying.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
KillerQueen
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
BRING BACK SHELL 1C0
Please, please, please for the sake of all fair skinned people, bring back Shell 1C0!! You take it away, you bring it back, and then you take it away again. PLEASE, bring it back! It's the most wonderful foundation in the whole world, and the perfect shade for me. Nothing else will do.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
TheSusie
Location: Houston, TX
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
AWFUL!!!
Best For: throwing in the trash!
Was a ELDW user for years until EL changed the formula. Now this stuff is not any better than cheap dime-store foundations. The coverage is extremely poor, it doesn't last, and the colors are unnatural. DO NOT buy this product...you will regret it. EL needs to bring back the old formula or at the very least re-vamp this new formula to something worthy of its predecessor and the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
lovemuffinmommy
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2014
My Favorite Makeup
Such good coverage and soft feeling. Really stays all day too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
dreamer122
Location: Metter,GA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2014
Great makeup
goes on smooth,stays on long,just the right color,coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
nanbrown
Location: Denver, CO
Age65 - 74
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2014
stays on all day
This makeup stays on all day and covers completely
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
mrraine
Location: Harrison, AR
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
so glad I found this makeup
after struggling with other brands of makeup, I am so glad I found Estee Lauder double wear. now I look polished everyday!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
jessid90
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Need light shades!!!!
I absolutely love this foundation but I have been waiting for months for the 1C0 shell to be in stock because it keeps saying "coming soon" and now it doesn't show up at all! I currently use 1C1 Cool Bone, but I have to mix sooooo much white foundation in it that I have basically stopped using it. I am very disappointed that such a great foundation does not come in lighter colors. Not everyone has a medium-colored skin tone! Please bring back Shell!!!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Stac
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Double Wear Shell 1C0 Discontinued???
I have used this product for many years. The shade I used was Shell 1C0. It is now discontinued. The suggested replacement Cool Bone is too light. Why would you discontinue a product which in my local area is a very popular shade? I have been a customer for 20+ years, I have tried other Estee Lauder shades and nothing so far is acceptable. You will likely lose a customer of many years. If something is not broke then don't fix it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Ivory
Location: Chicago, IL
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Were are all the pale colors going??
Double Wear has been my holy grail for some time because it was the only foundation that lasts all day and offered colors light enough for my very pale skin. BUT, over the last couple of years EL has discontinue all of the truly light shades (Please listen to me, EL: 1N1 and 1W1 are nowhere near light!). I've been making 1C1 Cool Bone work, although even it is too dark, but now that color has been "out of stock" for some time now. Is "out of stock" code for discontinued?!? Plus, EL said on Facebook that they were bringing back Shell, but that has yet to happen. As another reviewer said, pale people still exist!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
LuvstoShop
Location: Southwestern Colorado
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Why Do Companies Change the Colors?
I can never figure out why makeup companies change the formulations and don't make the EXACT color match to the old product. Please bring back 1c1 Shell 15. We fair gals need that color match again. I don't need to look orange or pasty. Please take note of all these negative reviews. It isn't a good thing to lose loyal customers.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Rico
Location: Janesville Wisconsin
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Changed the formula
Best For: coverage
I am very disappointed with you EL. What happened with Double Matte oil control foundation? And you discontinued the Double Matte Oil Control pressed powder as well! I have been using these products for several years and I cannot find it anymore. I love to use these two en summer time because they simple control the shine on my face. Please bring them back; now that the summer is approaching I do not have any make up left. Please bring them back.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
shaem
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
great foundation, but where are the light shades?
This is the best foundation I have ever used. Even after the formula change, I still love it. However, now the lightest shades are unavailable, including shell 1C0 that was brought back. What is going on Estee Lauder? Pale people still exist and need makeup too. Please, please, please bring back shell or atleast keep cool bone in stock!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Brenn
Location: Lawrenceville,Ga
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014
Why?
Dear Estee Lauder,
Please bring back the Shell Double Wear 1c1.Went to the counter and to my horror and disbelief was told my foundation color that I've been wearing for( it must be) 15 years has been discontinued.I don't understand why.It ruined my whole day to find this out.The new colors don't even come close.PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE bring our colors and original formula back. Also missed out on the Gift With Purchase because of this nightmare. What a Lasting disappointment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Birdwife
Location: Idaho
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
Pretty good
I don't live close to a mall where I could go in and have the sales lady match me a foundation to my skin, I ordered mine online. I was worried it wouldn't match, but when it came it was a perfect match! I'm so happy! I ordered dawn 2w1. I have a yellow undertone and olive skin. I looked at the color choices for weeks contemplating which would be best. Lol. I think it's a miracle it was actually a match! The foundation has a paint like smell to it which I thought was odd. As for the coverage it's pretty awesome, better than a drug store foundation for sure. I put it on without concealer to see the coverage. I have a few acne scars and some regular acne and it covered them well but not 100%. They wouldn't be noticeable to anyone else but me though, just because I know where they are and am looking for them. So all in all I love it and it's a keeper. I read the other reviews that a lot of people didn't like the new formula, I haven't used it before so I can't vouch for that. So wi that said I say the new formula is still pretty awesome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
docgresh
Age65 - 74
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Limited colors that don't work
I was also a user of the old formulas. After hours of trying various stores to see if I could find the old shades, I gave up. The new colors are quite limited and no longer give me a match. Very disappointed..am going to have to find a new product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Caroljean
Location: West Allis, WI
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Finally found the right foundation make-up!
Best For: anyone
For many years I tried different brands of make-up to find the right coverage and tone for my face. When I received a sample of the Double Wear by Estee Lauder I knew I was done searching. Double Wear has perfect coverage for all day wear and is never heavy looking or cakey (is that a word?). Loved having it sent to my home with no postage or handling fee too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
wasyourbiggestfan
Location: Louisville, Ky
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
bring back the old formula
Best For: nothing
I have worn your double wear makeup for tens years or longer now there is nothing double wear about it if you are looking for a new formula try finding the discontinued formula that elizabeth arden use to have called flawless
Guess I'm going to have to start all over looking for another makeup it's not worth ten dollars yet alone $40
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.