Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(2.966 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(620 Reviews) 606
 306 out of 62049%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 81 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
shaem
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
great foundation, but where are the light shades?
This is the best foundation I have ever used. Even after the formula change, I still love it. However, now the lightest shades are unavailable, including shell 1C0 that was brought back. What is going on Estee Lauder? Pale people still exist and need makeup too. Please, please, please bring back shell or atleast keep cool bone in stock!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Brenn
Location: Lawrenceville,Ga
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014
Why?
Dear Estee Lauder,
Please bring back the Shell Double Wear 1c1.Went to the counter and to my horror and disbelief was told my foundation color that I've been wearing for( it must be) 15 years has been discontinued.I don't understand why.It ruined my whole day to find this out.The new colors don't even come close.PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE bring our colors and original formula back. Also missed out on the Gift With Purchase because of this nightmare. What a Lasting disappointment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Birdwife
Location: Idaho
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
Pretty good
I don't live close to a mall where I could go in and have the sales lady match me a foundation to my skin, I ordered mine online. I was worried it wouldn't match, but when it came it was a perfect match! I'm so happy! I ordered dawn 2w1. I have a yellow undertone and olive skin. I looked at the color choices for weeks contemplating which would be best. Lol. I think it's a miracle it was actually a match! The foundation has a paint like smell to it which I thought was odd. As for the coverage it's pretty awesome, better than a drug store foundation for sure. I put it on without concealer to see the coverage. I have a few acne scars and some regular acne and it covered them well but not 100%. They wouldn't be noticeable to anyone else but me though, just because I know where they are and am looking for them. So all in all I love it and it's a keeper. I read the other reviews that a lot of people didn't like the new formula, I haven't used it before so I can't vouch for that. So wi that said I say the new formula is still pretty awesome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
docgresh
Age65 - 74
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Limited colors that don't work
I was also a user of the old formulas. After hours of trying various stores to see if I could find the old shades, I gave up. The new colors are quite limited and no longer give me a match. Very disappointed..am going to have to find a new product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Caroljean
Location: West Allis, WI
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Finally found the right foundation make-up!
Best For: anyone
For many years I tried different brands of make-up to find the right coverage and tone for my face. When I received a sample of the Double Wear by Estee Lauder I knew I was done searching. Double Wear has perfect coverage for all day wear and is never heavy looking or cakey (is that a word?). Loved having it sent to my home with no postage or handling fee too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
wasyourbiggestfan
Location: Louisville, Ky
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
bring back the old formula
Best For: nothing
I have worn your double wear makeup for tens years or longer now there is nothing double wear about it if you are looking for a new formula try finding the discontinued formula that elizabeth arden use to have called flawless
Guess I'm going to have to start all over looking for another makeup it's not worth ten dollars yet alone $40
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
PositiveEnergy
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Bring back the old formula!
I have been a loyal Estee Lauder customer for 40 years and I have used this foundation in excess of 20 years and have always felt it was THE BEST ever. The coverage, staying power, non-transfer and shades were fantastic. However, the new formula and shades leave much to be desired. I will continue to purchase it but please bring back the old formula! The old formula would definitely have gotten five stars from me.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Yolamrob
Location: Los Angeles
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Very disappointing
I loved the previous make up, which is no longer available, so the salesperson recommended I try this one. It is double thick, but does not cover as nicely as the other one. I wouldn't recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
silversenior
Location: Boxford, MA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2014
Best Foundation
As a mature woman, I have used several foundations. I have never used the old Double Wear formula, but I can't imagine how it could be better than the new. This is the best foundation I have ever purchased. It has great buildable coverage (I have rosacea), doesn't settle into fine lines and pores, looks fresh all day, no breakouts (I have very sensitive skin); and the Fresco is a perfect match for my light complexion. I have received many complements on how beautiful my makeup looks. Hope this formula doesn't change!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Anonymous1965
Location: North Carolina
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2014
I Love This Foundation
Best For: people who don't like to touch up their makeup!
I can't believe how many negative reviews there are of this product. It's awesome! I apply it at 6:00 every morning, and at 9 PM it still looks perfect without a single touch-up. You do need to blend this product quickly, so I do a small section of my face at a time using a makeup sponge. Also, kudos to EL for having such a large selection of shades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Fan4Life
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2014
Best foundation ever!
I've been using Tawny Double Wear for about 5 years and I would never try another foundation. It really does stay in place and looks totally natural.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Renz
Location: Madison,WI
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014
Why did you change the shades????
After a lot of trail and error, I was very happy with 5N1 Softan shade in Double Wear makeup. It suited my skin tone, stayed longer and looked natural. Now, Estee Lauder decided to do away with this shade, and none of the new ones match my skin tone! I purchased the new softan 4C3, which is way too dark! I'm very very disappointed that Estee Lauder let down their loyal customers this way!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Nurse85
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
my holy grail foundation!!!
Best For: Oily Skin, long wearing, flawless finish :-)
I have been a faithful customer of Estée Lauder for 3 years now. Yes they have taken the SPF out, but the foundation is still the same. This is the best foundation ever for me. I have tried many high end brands, but this one is the BEST! As seasons change so does my skin color. The Estée Lauder girls always gave me several samples first until I find my color. Now I know what my summer and winter colors are. This foundation definitely stands up to its name. I never had any outbreak from this foundation. Thank you Estée Lauder for making this beautiful long wearing product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Carmelina
Location: Washington D.C.
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
Please bring back the old Double Wear foundation
I have been a 20+ year user of Double Wear foundation. This used to be the perfect foundation until it was reformulated. The Soft Tan color is no longer a match for me…none of the colors are a match for me now. The new formula does not provide the same coverage. The new make-up does not have the same consistency and has caused break-outs on my skin. The new formula tends to come off and does not have the staying power like the old formula. Not to mention that the SPF has been removed from the reformulated makeup altogether. Please bring back the old formula/colors or you will continue to lose longtime loyal Estee Lauder customers. Like the many other loyal users of Double Wear I am extremely disappointed and hope that Estee Lauder brings back the holy grail of foundation that we all loved!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Makeuplover1023
Location: Mason. Ohio
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2014
Breing back the old DW!
I have been using the old DW foundation for many years and loved it and recommended it to all my friends as it was the first makeup for my oily, very pale skin that didn't change color throughout the day and stayed on and still looked fresh after 8 or more hours. I used Fresco 2N2. I was out of make up during the formula change and was colr tested and they gave me the new formula. I didn't know the SPF was gone. The color makes me look very pale and I had to have a sun damge spot frozen off my face too after using this for a year. Pleas bring back the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Nanabell
Location: Rural Texas
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
Super foundation
Being a lady in her seventies, no other foundation has the coverage and superb moisture for aging skin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
JoTaylor
Location: New York, NY
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Change Isn't Always A Good Thing
Best For: child's dress up
This product was a must-have to my everyday beauty routine. This foundation USED to make my skin appear so flawless, it looked photo shopped. Since the new change in the formula, you're better off going with no makeup at all to say the least.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
CatKitty
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2014
Great product
I am surprised about the quantity of negative reviews, although can understand that changing the colors would mean finding a new match in some cases. Years ago I used Ecru as the closest "match" to my skin. Problem was that about half way through the day my redness would peak through and the color would just look pasty and muddy on my skin. I went to the counter to be re-matched and we picked Sand to counteract my redness. I loved Sand, and was lucky that Sand is still Sand in the new formula. I sense that there might be a slight difference in color, but if so, the new color is actually better. I really like this long-lasting makeup. I don't have any issues with application but I apply an oil-free SPF moisturizer prior to applying the makeup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
SheLovesEL
Location: Charleston, SC
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2014
Prevents Shiny Nose and Lipstick Feathering
Best For: oily areas
Although I wear EL Resilience Lift on the rest of my face, I have found that Double Wear foundation is perfect for my nose to prevent shine and around the area of my lips to prevent lipstick feathering issues. It is a perfect match to my skin color, so I also wear it along my jaw line to prevent that embarrassing makeup line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
godinez
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
Beautiful foundation
I suffer from dry skin along with mild acne. This foundation really covers up all your imperfection. I love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.