Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(3.855 out of 5)
(
3.9
 out of 
5
)
(1216 Reviews) 1168
 886 out of 1,21673%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 81 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
DP111
Age35 - 44
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014
Great Product--Double Wear in Shell
This review is for Double Wear in Shell (1C0). I have been using Double Wear in Shell for many years. It stays in place throughout the day including hot and humid days. This foundation matches my skin tone perfectly and helps camouflage flaws such as scars and acne. Many years ago, I had severe cystic acne, and this foundation was the only one on the market that would help not only camouflage the acne and scars, but also lessen the appearance of redness. I have tried Cool Bone and the other light Double Matte shades, and unfortunately, they do not match my skin tone and do not blend well because they are too yellow or pink. Over the past few months, I have occasionally seen Shell available on this website and hope that Shell has not been discontinued. Please keep Double Matte in Shell available, as it is a great product in a great shade for fair people like myself.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Mbrown
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Age18 - 24
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014
All day coverage!
Best For: all day coverage
I have been using Estee Lauder Double Wear since I was in high school. My mom has always used their products so that is what she bought me as well. I have never had any skin problems and I give these quality products all the credit! I tried to use drug store products back in college, but I found myself back at the Estee Lauder counter immediately when my skin had a bad reaction to them. I love Double Wear because I can put it on at 6am and when I come home at 5pm, or sometimes even later, my makeup looks just as great as it did when I left that morning! Even with its all day coverage, it is so light you can't feel it on your face! I have worn this foundation almost everyday for over ten years. It doesn't clog your pores and it comes off as easy as it goes on. I highly recommend the Double Wear makeup line! Especially for those who want to look as great in the afternoon as they do in the morning!
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Lorinda
Location: Granite Falls, NC
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014
Best Foundation I have ever used
I love Double Wear! It lasts all day and keeps looking fresh. I will never use anything else.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Makeupgal13
Location: Clovis
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Best makeup!
Best For: oily to combination and uneven pigmentation
I have a hard skin tone to match, I have always struggled with finding a good makeup for my oily-combination skin. After trying many brands and creams I was told to try this product. I went in to get a tone match and found the perfect one. This stuff stays on all day and I hardly have to touch up anymore. It is really good for my uneven skin tone as well. Definitely recommend for anyone looking for a good coverage foundation!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
rani
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
nice foundation
Best For: coverage
I really like the coverage and color match i have for this foundation, I'm in pure beige. I have been using it for a few months, and have not had any adult acne flare ups, so i am really happy about that. I also use an Estee Lauder powder over the foundation because i just feel it gives a better over all finished appearance.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Carmont
Location: Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Double Wear
Excellent coverage, staying power. nice range of tones to match skin. Recommend to cover flaws, discoloration, acne, etc. Would use moisturizer underneath, however, because Double Wear can be slightly drying.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Fuji
Location: Chicago
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2014
Disappointed
[Order 2388458551] I tried many different shades and still could not find a shade for me. 2W2 and 3C1 are too light. 3C2 is close but too pink. 3N1 and 3W1 are way too dark. Moreover, the only attribute of this foundation is its impressive staying power. But it fails to cover my pore and blur wrinkles. It fails to make my skin looks better.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Frostygirl
Location: san antonio, tx
Age65 - 74
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014
Best cover up makeup
I have used this product for years and was recommended by a friend that has roscea.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
lysso
Age13 - 17
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014
HG Foundation
Best For: oily, dry, combination, Long-wear, the fairest of fair skin
I have such fair skin with some hyper pigmentation in my cheeks, so I have always struggled with finding a foundation that matches my white neck but still provides ample coverage for my uneven skin. I found this one in Shell a couple of years ago and fell in love! I get so many compliments on my "flawless porcelain skin", even from complete strangers! When I found out Estee Lauder discontinued Shell, I was so angry and have been on the lookout for a new foundation ever since. I happened to be on the website today and saw that Shell was back! Rejoicing! Please please always keep Shell! It is the perfect color for my skin! For those of you who have never tried this product, go for it! I've been pushed in the pool before, and this makeup stayed on my face! Looks natural, doesn't sit on top of skin, and does not settle around nose.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Falarooney
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2014
Please Keep Shell!!
Double Wear is the best long-wearing foundation, hands down. Please keep the color Shell for us pale faces!!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MrsR
Location: Oakland, Ca
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014
Macy's doesn't carry it anymore!
Had to come here to get 4 bottles because Macy's doesn't carry it anymore. Love this stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
DMo58
Location: Dallas, Tx
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Flawless
This is the best makeup I have tried. Started 7 years ago and now it is the only one I buy. Flawless. Face looks great all day long! Priceless!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
prettyinpink
Location: Midwest
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Thank You for for bringing back Shell!
Best For: anything you need to cover, sensitive skin, full coverage
I have been waiting forever for Shell to come back and lo and behold it has. I am really thrilled and after comparison of the two versions of double wear I think the new formula is just fine and not all that different than the original and still a great product. I need so little its really a great value for me. Please keep Shell in stock for all the snow whites who love this product.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
sshaw
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2014
Great Coverage!
This foundation is a little pricy, but worth the price.
It last longer than other brands and provides excellent coverage. I would recommend this product if you do not have time to refresh your makeup during the day.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Mommy2candc
Location: Danville, KY
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2014
Not For a 30 Something
I am very appreciative that Estee Lauder gave me a free 10 day sample of this product because I would have been very disappointed if I had paid for it. The product does what it is supposed to. It is definitely full coverage and stays on pretty well but my skin felt dry and tight while wearing this. Also, no matter how thinly I applied this foundation you could still tell I was wearing makeup. I do not have many lines or wrinkles but this foundation made each one I do have stand out and more pronounced. I like a full coverage foundation to cover the redness in my cheeks around my nose but this was not for me.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Mittle
Location: Plymouth Ma
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
great match
Best For: women my age
Excellent coverage and staying comfortable all day.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Jerilyn
Location: Arvada, CO
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014
Great Foundation!
This is the best foundation I have ever tried. I used to break out when I used other products. In fact I have never found another foundation that I could wear. I get compliments from people all the time about how smooth my face looks. I love it!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
GmaK
Location: Indio, CA
Age65 - 74
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2014
Love this foundation
Best For: anyone
This foundation goes on so smoothly and blends right in. The color is perfect for my light coloring.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MrsSunshine18
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
Bring back Shell!!!
I have been using this foundation in Shell (1C1) forever because I have very fair skin. My coworker has nicknamed me "Snow White." Unfortunately it has been discontinued in my shade. I don't understand why you would discontinue a hard to find fair shade that has always rewarded you with a loyal customer. I have always told everyone who has complimented me on my beautiful skin what makeup I use. I am so unhappy that this wonderful formula is no longer formulated or marked to those of us with fairer skin. I work long shifts in a hospital and need the staying power. PLEASE consider bringing back the original Shell color. I can no longer wear your makeup and it breaks my heart.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Estegal
Location: Denair, California
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
Best Foundation
Love Este Lauder Double Wear foundation. I am 64 years old and I have been using this foundation for at least four years now. It has great coverage and is not to thick or greasy. I use this along with the daywear moisturizer and am very happy with the results.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.