Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(2.997 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(632 Reviews) 618
 317 out of 63250%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 441 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Brenn
Location: Lawrenceville,Ga
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014
Why?
Dear Estee Lauder,
Please bring back the Shell Double Wear 1c1.Went to the counter and to my horror and disbelief was told my foundation color that I've been wearing for( it must be) 15 years has been discontinued.I don't understand why.It ruined my whole day to find this out.The new colors don't even come close.PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE bring our colors and original formula back. Also missed out on the Gift With Purchase because of this nightmare. What a Lasting disappointment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 442 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
PositiveEnergy
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Bring back the old formula!
I have been a loyal Estee Lauder customer for 40 years and I have used this foundation in excess of 20 years and have always felt it was THE BEST ever. The coverage, staying power, non-transfer and shades were fantastic. However, the new formula and shades leave much to be desired. I will continue to purchase it but please bring back the old formula! The old formula would definitely have gotten five stars from me.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 443 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Yolamrob
Location: Los Angeles
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Very disappointing
I loved the previous make up, which is no longer available, so the salesperson recommended I try this one. It is double thick, but does not cover as nicely as the other one. I wouldn't recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 444 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Makeuplover1023
Location: Mason. Ohio
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2014
Breing back the old DW!
I have been using the old DW foundation for many years and loved it and recommended it to all my friends as it was the first makeup for my oily, very pale skin that didn't change color throughout the day and stayed on and still looked fresh after 8 or more hours. I used Fresco 2N2. I was out of make up during the formula change and was colr tested and they gave me the new formula. I didn't know the SPF was gone. The color makes me look very pale and I had to have a sun damge spot frozen off my face too after using this for a year. Pleas bring back the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 445 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Steely
Location: Middletown, MD
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Yuk!
What happened to this foundation? No one color even comes close to my skin tone so I can't use it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 446 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Ellak
Location: Orange County, CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
What happened?
I've been using this foundation and just tried this new formula. Yikes, this is no longer my favorite. The foundation looks yellow on me now and dries on so quickly. Please bring back the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 447 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
adh1006
Location: MS
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2013
Too drying
I am still on the search for the perfect foundation for me. After reading countless reviews, I thought this would be the one, but I was wrong. It begins to dry as soon as you apply it to your skin so if you don't blend quickly, you'll have dry streaks on your face. The coverage isn't full, it's more of a medium coverage, and if you apply more it will give you that too-much makeup look. Also, for this to be called "Double Wear", it wears away pretty quickly. I will apply it, then in a few hours I check a mirror and it has worn off in places. Once this foundation sets, it makes your skin look dry and cracked and it feels tight. Another thing I didn't like is that the foundation didn't even come with a pump. I had to spend more money to buy a foundation pump (which fit the EL bottle perfectly) to get the foundation out of the glass bottle. In all, this was a huge letdown.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 448 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Laura520
Location: Maryland
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2013
WHY?!
Best For: nobody
I'm so tired of makeup companies changing their formulas, and forcing me to hunt down a good foundation again and again. Double Wear has been changed. The ingredient list on the box is completely different from what I used to buy. The old formula was wonderful and made me look and feel incredible. The new formula has ruined the skin under my eyes. Drying out the skin till I look like the "crypt keeper" under my eyes. I am 44 years old with mostly oily skin, but this formulas is too drying. I'm done with Estée Lauder!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 449 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Marie12
Location: Missouri
Age25 - 34
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2013
Bring back the old colors!
For 6 yrs Ive recommended this to anyone who was looking for a foundation because it was so full coverage, light, and long wearing BUT bring back 1c1 shell! 1c1 cool bone is a totally different shade!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 450 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Skkoop
Age55 - 64
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Why did you change formula?
I used to love this foundation. People raved at how perfect my skin looked. Well, you've obviously changed the formula. Now it looks downright strange on my skin. BTW, you've changed the concealer, too! What gives? Guess I'm going to have to find a new company. Your loss.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 451 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
cag123
Age45 - 54
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2013
AWFUL!!!!!!!
What was wrong with the Double Matte that you used to carry?! It wore much better. This stuff is horrible. Definitely does NOT stay in place. And even just a couple of hours in it looks like I'm wearing clown makeup. It kind of pools on my face in the oily spots. Why can't you bring back the double matte? I'm done with Este Lauder until they bring back my favorite, for many years now, makeup. Don't buy this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 452 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Ashley17
Age13 - 17
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2013
BRING THE OLD FORMULA BACK!!!!
This new formula is so bad, I can't stand it. I have used this foundation for a long time because I thought it was amazing, but the new formula is horrible! It's so matte, and dry and sheer it makes my skin look dull. It doesn't last like it did before either. I miss the radiance and beauty of the old one. I will not repurchase until it is back to the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 453 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Anonymous
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2013
WHY DID THEY CHANGE THIS FOUNDATION?
I've used doublewear Sand for Years. Now the colors have changed and it no longer contains sunscreen. I ordered the comparable color to Sand on the recommendation of an online chat representative, and it's way too light and just doesn't go on the same. Blotchy and pastey. Yuck. I'm now hording the old color from online auctions. I wish they'd bring back the old formula. NOT HAPPY.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 454 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MakeupL0ve
Location: Houston, TX
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2013
Unsatisfactory
I tried and tried to make this foundation work for me, but after several weeks it simply didn't work out. I had difficulty finding a color match because the Ecru oxidized on me, so I ended up buying Ivory Nude and mixing the two. I bought crazy numbers of foundation brushes, searching for the perfect finish, all for naught. This foundation cakes on my skin and settles into my lines and pores. I entered the game too late to try the old formulation so I have no basis for comparison in that regard. But, if I get better results with a drugstore foundation that's a fraction of the cost of Double Wear, that's pretty bad.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 455 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
vegandancer
Location: Chicago, IL
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2013
Best Dancer Foundation!
Best For: performances, photo shoots, smooth finish, natural-looking coverage, covering up redness, full coverage
I have faithfully worn this foundation since my senior year on my high school dance team. Now, as a college dancer with my face constantly being on ESPN and jumbo-trons, I will never stray. I am young and have good skin (few breakouts) with a warm undertone, and this foundation makes it look ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. The lack of SPF keeps my face from turning white in pictures :) I love the silky smooth finish, and the water resistance keeps it on even while I sweat! I wash it off easily at night with hand soap or a Dove bar, followed by my usual face wash. I wouldn't use a full coverage foundation like this everyday, but I could not live without it on Game Days or important events/ parties.
Oh, and NO CONCEALOR NEEDED over this foundation--trust me, I have dark DARK undereye circles around midterms and finals.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 456 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
jlibbyb
Location: Charleston, SC
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2013
Changes everywhere...
I used to be a faithful Lauder customer. From skin care to foundations, I used it all! Now, all are discontinued, changed formulas, shades are off and highly fragrant. I tried to purchase the smoothing concealer too and what...best seller for many, many years; discontinued. I just want my old favorites back. This was a great product; not now. Too hard to blend out. Need a med-full coverage for aging, drier skin with a wide-range of shades from light to deep. We love Lauder but want less fragrance and chemicals and more hydrating products. PLEASE...even the Soft Clean Cleanser is not available.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 457 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Azuline
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2013
Can't find my perfect shade
I used this product for years. It really provided the best coverage ever. I always bought 'peble', but the color now is totally different and really ashy. I don't know why it has been changed? I can't find my shade within this new range of colors.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 458 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
cmd1
Location: san diego ca
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013
Another dissapointed longtime customer.
Best For: no one
New formula does not have same coverage and I am now forced to start searching for my new perfect foundation. Why they would do this is beyond me. Very dissapointed in Estee Lauder.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 459 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
sfp68
Location: Houston, TX
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2013
I'm So Disappointed In EL
I bought this product when it first came on the market and LOVED IT! Since they've changed formula and shades, I'm so disappointed. Cannot find the right shade for my very light skin. It doesn't stay on as well and it does get into the pores. I'm 63 years old and I need MY SHADE AND FORMULA BACK! EL must have lost a lot of customers on this move. If they want to improve on something...go to fragrances! Now they could use some improving.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 460 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
uclakaren
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013
Why would you change something that was perfect?
The old formula was perfect. I would put on my makeup at 6am and by 8pm I still looked flawless. I use to get compliments all the time on my perfect skin, when really it was all my awesome makeup. Then they changed the formula and it's just not the same. First, the new 1C1, Cool Bone, is NOT the same as the old 1C1 color, Shell. Cool Bone is too orangey, whereas Shell was a perfect shade for fair skinned women who have more of a pinkish/rosy undertone. Second, I feel like the new formula is too oily. I used it for two days then returned it. If they do in fact bring back the color Shell (as their website is advertising) I will try the product again, but I hope they consider using the old formula.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.