Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(3.037 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(648 Reviews) 634
 332 out of 64851%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 21 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MandaB
Age19 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2012
Dissappointed with the new shades
I loved this foundation so much when they still had shell 1C1 but now that shade has been given a new name and when I wore it I had orange lines on my neck even when I blended. I have never had this problem with the old shade and when I held the two bottles up side to side the new one was clearly darker with more yellow tones. I will try 1W1 and see if it is any better, but from what I've read it looks like the coverage has changed as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Modena
Location: Edinburg,TX
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2012
Use to be the best foundation
I hate the new line for double wear foundation. It is so watery, no coverage what's so ever and does not last 15 hrs as so stated on box. I love the old foundation better and wish they will bring it back. Why change what works for people. This new foundation makes my skin so oily and falls off by the end of the day...simply hate it. I've been wearing this foundation for over 10yrs now and I don't know what to do if they don't change this foundation.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
ShihTzulover
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2012
Why did Double Wear have to change???
Why change a good thing? Double Wear WAS perfect. Now, it is absolutely AWFUL. The color is no where near the same. I am fair skinned and used Shell which was perfect for me. Cool Bone is way too dark with much more pink. Ivory Beige is way too dark and too yellow. Next, the consistency is much thinner and way too drying. The original Double Wear had moisture but remained non-oily. Now there is no SPF, whereas, the original formula had this essential element. So the color is off, it is so drying my face feels like it will crack, and there is no SPF. I hope the company listens to us and will bring back the old formula that had perfect shades, moisture without being oily, and SPF!!!!! Why did they not just add this new formula to their many foundations rather than remove the best one they had???
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
sue1955
Location: Frederick, MD
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2012
Wish that "Shell" was still available
Why in the world was "Shell" discontinued? I advance ordered "Cool Bone" and received it once it was available. It IS deeper in color with a distinct peach tone. I miss the beautiful airbrushed quality that "Shell" had. I always got compliments on my skin with that. It even made me look so good that my doctor thought I looked wonderful even while ill with serious diabetes-related complications. I didn't tell him that it was the make-up! "Cool Bone" is nothing special. The consistency is thinner and coverage is not the same. I cannot comment regarding rub-off on clothes since I have not worn any white tops since wearing the new foundation. Ladies who previously wore "Shell" who have true porcelain skin; e.g., natural redheads, will not be able to use "Cool Bone." My daughter has discovered that already.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
maxine52
Location: Houston, Tx
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2012
Why??
I have worn Double Wear for over 20 years. I have recomended it to many people. My previous color was Shell. I have now tried 3 different shades. All of them are too yellow in color. I don't understand why you changed the colors. Why change something that was so good before? I will now have to switch to some other makeup. Why Estee Lauder, why???
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
micheller
Location: killeen tx
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2012
i dont like the new double wear colors
I have used Suede and Sand for years,since they changed the colors I will no longer be buying this foundation. It was perfect before they changed the colors and formula.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
monicha
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2012
disappointed
Best For: product ruined
I just bought my favorite make -up ever...TO FIND OUT IT HAS CHANGED !!!!! I wore pebble 04 3C1 ..the color is now lighter and not the same coverage !!!! Why would you change a product that was perfect !! You should also change the name to wear for a little while ! I will now have to look for something new !!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Batool
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age19 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2012
BEST FOUNDTION EVER :D !!! .
Simply the best.
The formula has NOT been changed with the introduction of new shades. Double wear has only been repackaged because the FDA requires that "spf 10" be removed as that is not enough to protect yourself from the harmful rays of the sun. For true protection spf 30+ should be used.
However the formula remains the same WITH spf 10 and the consistency remains the same, even for the new shades. Some shades have been discontinued though with the introduction of new ones to replace them.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Hiku
Location: Chicago, IL
Age19 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2012
I wore Double Wear for 8 years.....
I am horribly disappointed by the change. I don't understand why you would change a product that was so incredible in the first place. I wore the shade "Ecru" for over eight years and never had a problem or even thought of switching foundations, but now Ecru doesn't match anymore and none of the new shades do either. I also noticed that the coverage is definitely not what it used to be. I've already tried 5 other brands of foundations and can't find a match because of my neutral skin. Please bring the old formula and shades back.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
awful
Location: Edinburgh
Age19 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2012
I can't believe you got rid of Shell!
I was going to be a lifetime buyer of Shell Double Wear Foundation, and now it's been discontinued, and in its place a slightly orange foundation with less coverage! Shell was honestly the best foundation I have ever found, without a doubt. It was classic, perfect coverage, everything you could want, I don't understand why it has been changed, and I think it should be brought back.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
bstrowd
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2012
New Double Wear
I have always loved Double Wear and have used it for over 15 years. My color was linen, and now that the formula has been changed I am not satisfied. Not to mention my color has been discontinued and I can't find a perfect match. I wish they would have kept the product line the same.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
LoverofDW
Location: Ky
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2012
Double wear!
I must say I love the new formula! I used the new formula but was matched to dark so I went back for a lighter shade and ended up with the old formula and I hate the old so much thicker and harder to get out of the bottle, I will be going back to swap for the new formula!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Teacher1
Location: Mesa, AZ
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2012
New colors are not good!
I have used double wear for years! But now they have changed the colors. I have yet to find one that is just right. They are either orange or too dark. I am very disappointed. They changed their blush colors a few months ago, also. Again, the colors are not right for me and I have had to start buying another brand. At this rate, Estee Lauder will be losing long time customers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
llm1
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2012
Shell is gone!
I cannot believe that shell has been discontinued! The new shade replacing it is SO orange. There is now no good option for very pale skin with strong pink undertones. Guess I have to hunt for a new foundation again for the first time in years! I am so upset.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
unsatisfied
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2012
Poor change of double wear foundation
I am completely upset. The new line of double wear is unsatisfactory! It is not as good of coverage, the colors are not as natural as before, the SPF 10 is gone! What could ya'll have been thinking? I have been a double wear user for 20 yrs. How could you change a product that so many women just LOVE? Please bring back the same formula and colors!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
consumer2
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2012
No more Shell..why would you do this??
I have extremely fait skin, so it took me forever to find a foundation that was right for me. The Double Wear Shell was perfect. NOW IT IS GONE!! Why would you do this? The girl at the counter tried to sell me the "new" color for for my skin tone. It was practically orange. Are you kidding? There's that old saying..."If it aint broke don't fix it." Since there are no colors left that even come close to my skin tone, I will have to move on from Estee Lauder.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
RachelL
Location: Lafayette, LA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2012
Do Not Like the New Formula
I am a long time Estee Lauder user. Loved the Double Wear foundation. I came home one day after opening a new bottle of the foundation. Commented to myself that I must have had a really bad day because it appeared that all my makeup was off. After going online for something else, I realized that I had the new formula. I do not find that it lasts as long as the original formula. I'll be looking for a new foundation. You have lost a very loyal and long time customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
jenjen
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2012
Boo... No more Linen
It took me forever to find a color that I liked, then I was hooked on Linen for years now and without any warning it was discontinued. I have not been able to find another color that I like as much yet. I am very disappointed!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Sue09
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2012
Bring back old formula
Like so many others, I am saddened and displeased by the recent changes to DW and DWL. I will admit that, on surveys, I requested the removal of the poor SPF and extension of the color range. Please note that I recommended extension, not replacement of existing colors. I have worn original DW 1C1 shell for years, and I, too, find the replacement 1C1 far too yellow for my skin tone. The most disappointing aspect of the reformulation is the wear and durability. The new formula does not have the same longevity and does not seem to be as transfer resistant. Working in healthcare, I look for a foundation that does not transfer to my mask during the day. Based on my initial tests of the new formula, this is not an improvement. I assumed that removing the SPF would not adversely affect the foundation wear time, but it appears I am wrong.
Please, please take these negative reviews into account. I have been a loyal EL customer since 1999, with every piece of skincare I use being EL. As much as I do not want to find another long wearing foundation from another company, I will have to. Perhaps the company can continue producing a few popular shades of the original DW formula.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
kimmy22
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2012
Double Wear Foundation
Bravo Estee Lauder! I have always been a fan of Double Wear, but I would like to send out a special thanks for adding more shades, especially in the warm tones. The new formula goes on a lot smoother, yet still has its incredible coverage and staying power...Also I love that it is now photogenic.
:-) This is the best foundation ever, regardless of age!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.