Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup

Rating:
(2.973 out of 5)
(
3
 out of 
5
)
(624 Reviews) 610
 309 out of 62450%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Review 1 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
cajunbrowneyes
Location: Abbeville, LA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
Love EL
I turned 60 in June. I have used your products faithfully for 40 years. I have been told I look 45! Thank you Estee Lauder!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
CaliforniaDreamin
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2014
Prefer new version - doesn't oxidize/react on face
It's interesting. The old formulation (that many reviewers love and want back) was something that never worked out for me.
I tried the foundation (old formula) on two separate occasions over a year apart, and both times, the old formula oxidized on my skin (within a hour of applying) causing it to turn a less than flattering orange-tint. I also noticed that I "felt" the foundation on my face, as if it were a mask. No matter how much I wanted to make it work, I just couldn't bear the orange-tint and the feel, and returned it both times.
But...the new formulation - WOW!! What a difference!!! The new formulation doesn't oxidize on my skin or feel mask-like at all. The coverage is fantastic - better than any other foundation I've used. It's pigmented, and covers the melasma on my cheeks without being too heavy/opaque.
I can now understand why those who loved the old formulation may not like the new version. It's a completely different foundation that happened to have worked out for me.
Perhaps EL can offer both formulations and make everyone happy?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
JanM
Location: Lynn, MA.
Age55 - 64
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2014
shopper
This is the best makeup by far. Only problem is the shades seem to be different then before. Is it because you eliminated something?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
CCMoore
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2014
Can no longer recommend
I used to use this all the time but I believe the formula has been changed. I used it because it didn't break me out and had great coverage. Now it breaks me out. First the color I used (dust) is no longer available, then I selected another color which was okay and it started breaking me out. If you do not have to worry about breakouts - it's great - has wonderful, lasting coverage. I will no longer use it and I see the price has gone up so I'm done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Nadia210
Location: Leadville, CO
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
My fave so far!!
Because of the price I didn't buy this before hoping I would find a good one at a cheaper price, I've been trying it for a few weeks now and I am in love, lasts a long long time, I have a Very oily face and I don't have to touch up as much as before, once or twice maybe throughout the day. I would definitely recommend this foundation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
lojackgraham
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2014
Best Coverage Ever!
This foundation does NOT wear off throughout the day... best coverage with a natural look. Covers blemishes well and does not sweat into my wrinkles. :) Love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Jeanniers
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Perfect Foundation
Best For: foundation, all day coverage
I love, love, love this foundation since I first purchase it years ago. I went out and tried other brands and always came straight back to this one, because no other one compares to the all day wear you get from it. It doesn't come off or smear off and it really stays in place all day. Once you try you won't go back to any other.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Terrilee
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Double Wear
Best For: mature skin
I love the Double Wear foundation. When I use the primer and then apply Double Wear it lasts all day long. I get great coverage with these products.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
LisaS
Location: Gordon, TX 76453, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
I have been wearing this double wear for many years and so does my Mom. We love the way the color is perfect for our skin. I love the way it stays in place all day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
IsabelB
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Double Wear Stay in Place Makeup
I worked for Estee Lauder for many years and I love many of their products. I've used Double Wear Foundation since it was introduced years ago. It is my makeup of choice - I would not use anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
RWSON
Location: Collins, MS
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Double Wear
I love this product and
I haven't found anything that compares.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Rozzy
Location: Chicago, IL
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
This foundation still rocks...
Best For: normal to oily skin, those seeking non-cakey full-coverage foundation
I understand all the negative vibes people have because I too used to use the old formula & just when I thought I couldn't live without it, EL just had to revamp... here we are all debating the new formula. Adding the additional colors was genius EL, but I also think it is *the* very thing that made me go crazy because I no longer was the shade I used to be. It took *several* attempts & very patient EL beauty consultants to finally match me to my right color (thanks to most EL counters being so generous with 10-day samples). I used to use Tawny, 3W1 in the old formula (which never quite matched me), although it was flawless in person, it was less than photogenic. Now I'm matched with Ivory Beige, 3N1 & in summer months I go half-shade darker & use Wheat, 3N2. It still has its staying power as the old formula, so I would say sample until you get it right. It's also photogenic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Wendy91195
Location: Owensboro, KY, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Customer
About a month ago, I was on EsteeLauder.com to purchase my favorite fragrance, Beautiful. Before I left the site, I thought I would look at some make-up.
As I get older, I need more reliable coverage from my makeup. I decided to give Estee Lauder makeup products a try. I am glad I did!
I purchased Estee Lauder's Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup, Double Wear Oil-Control Pressed Powder and Double Wear Concealer.
WOW! Not only did the makeup provide full and even coverage for my face, it indeed 'Stayed-in-Place,' for the whole day. It felt natural, and did not rub off on anything. My makeup even stayed in place after sweating in this summer heat.
I applied the makeup first, then the concealer, and finally the pressed powder. I really like that I can go to EsteeLauder.com and get instructions and advice on using Estee Lauder products! That was very helpful.
I know this sounds sappy, but I actually cried a little because I had finally found something that covered all of my imperfections such as dark spots from aging, and a few scars.
Overall, I will definitely be buying more Estee Lauder products in the future. I have been a loyal customer for over a decade with my fragrances. I now can expand that loyalty to include Estee Lauder makeup products! Thank you Estee Lauder!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
AWIFEMOTHERDAUGHTERFRIEND
Location: Montrose,Co
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014
Double Wear Foundation
Best For: good solid foundation
I hate dealing with finding a new foundation it can be an expensive venture you need it and don't want to have to need it! saying that WOW!this gives you the Coverage You Want not heavy or slick, not light although feels lightweight on your skin has staying power and has the ability to cover concerns while still looking and feeling very natural on your skin.I think this would be a good choice for any age no matter if you are trying to cover up many concerns or just want a natural bright even skin tone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Overla
Location: Deer Park, TX, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2014
Best For: anyone
I have tried ALL kinds of foundation, they all seem to "melt" off my face by midday. The double wear stays on ALL DAY LONG! :-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
redhen
Location: McGregor, Iowa
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2014
Great makeup
Best For: all the time wear.
Years ago, i had used Estee Lauder products, and makeup, so now here i am 40 years later at the age of 69, and i have decided to see if it would still look the same on my face. you bet it does, has the same smooth and natural look i had years ago. i have no wrinkles, so, that might help too. but, i sure do like the way this foundation looks so natural for me. i dont like to look painted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
Macaosandy
Location: Fairfax, VA, USA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2014
good product great service
Best For: full coverage lasts all day
Double wear is good product if looking for heavy coverage...it is a heavy for summer months...Estee provides great service quick shipping and wonderful gifts with service. Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
AndreaC17
Location: Everett, MA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2014
The Best
Still is the best foundation, couldn't imagine life without it!!
I've also used the skin care forever and when people are shocked at my age I always say it's my Estée Lauder!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
KMP1
Location: Castroville, TX, USA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
This is by far the best foundation I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup
MakeupQueen50
Location: Washington, MI 48094, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2014
Great coverage
I have used the original formula for quite some time. Was hesitant to order the new formula due to negative reviews. I need a darker color for my tanned skin. I tried it and was pleased with the coverage. It seem a little less full coverage than original double wear formula, but not enough difference to not like it. Wish it did have SPF but use SPF in my moisturizing lotion. Overall, really nice product.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.