Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator

Rating:
(3.534 out of 5)
(
3.5
 out of 
5
)
(131 Reviews) 125
 88 out of 13167%of reviewers recommend this product
SORT REVIEWS BY: Customer Reviews for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Review 1 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Tamar315
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2015
Great Product
I love Idealist and have been using the face cream for years. I recently started using the eye cream and I have noticed a diffirence right away. Great product and I definitly plan to continue using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
GAGirlCK
Location: Evans, GA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2015
Love it!
Best For: tired eyes and dark circles
A miracle worker for my tired eyes and dark circles- it's very effective and gives a subtle glow/brightness that doesn't look overdone or obvious and it never seems to cake or eventually settle into fine lines, which can be a problem with some heavier products or concealers. It holds up well throughout the day and it never irritates my sensitive skin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
kebb
Location: Mariposa, CA 95338, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2015
love
I love this stuff. 2 little boys and a husband limit my sleep and this really helps makes my eyes pop.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
JenniferMOM
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2015
Its a keeper
Best For: under eye darkness, fine lines and dry skin
Bought during a hurried weekend. Others waiting to be helped. The sales lady said I should try this eye illuminator over just going into a concealer. Sure, and I checked out. Walking away I noticed just how much I paid. Automatic buyers remorse. My fault, so I did not want that to interfere with the products help. I have been using the product for one week and I am happy to report I will be keeping this product. Reasons: I consider it more a part of my makeup than a skin care product. The most wonderful optical pigments than any other product I have used. As written by another reviewer, you can use to much product and the optics build and you have a very light illusion under your eyes. Whitish looking after all your makeup sets. I use just a little bit and get perfect results for my needs. Does not settle into fine lines or accentuate the dryness under my eyes. This is a keeper. I repeat, its more a makeup wonder than a skin care wonder. IMO.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
TiffanyZ
Location: Columbia, MD, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014
Awesome product
Best For: eyes
I have been using this eye cream for more than a year, i found it very good.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
gaoyunjs
Location: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2014
I love Cooling Eye Illuminator
This is a great product! Really brightens my eyes and goes on easily. The applicator is very convenient. Highly recommend this product!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
IS44
Location: Switzerland
Age35 - 44
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2014
Beware! seriously whitening!
I loved the texture with its cool ceramic applicator, I loved the luminous colour with its subtle golden glitter and the optical effect it produced, perfect for fair skins, I loved the fact that it reduced fine lines and puffiness, so far so good...
BUT, and that is a big BUT, after using this product for only a few days, my entire eye area turned dramatically lighter in colour, almost as white as a sheet of paper.
I am already very pale, but the contrast between my eye area and the rest of my face was shocking!
I stopped using the product immediately but my skin took several weeks to get back to normal.
I have informed Estee Lauder Switzerland about this problem as this is the country I reside in, but I was simply told that they'd never heard of any such thing.
I am now informing Estee Lauder USA that this problem exists, and could happen to other women.
Your statement: "Use it every day and your entire eye area looks more than a shade lighter" is in my opinion underestimating the power of this concealer, which can, in fact, be dramatically whitening.
Perhaps what happened to me is quite unique, but I felt it right to inform you, and other users, of my experience.
+40points
51out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Eirini
Location: Bonn, Germany
Age35 - 44
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
Completely ineffective!!!!
This does nothing for puffy eyes! It's just a ridiculously expensive concealer. The eyes still look puffy but with some glitter on them. I am extremely disappointed as this is an extremely expensive product.
+12points
27out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Katie1371
Location: Fresno, CA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2014
Puffiness Be Gone
Best For: puffy eyes
Love this stuff. I have super puffy eyes. They're really puffy in the morning and night and only slightly puffy during the day. My mom has them bad, and my grandma has them worse so I knew I needed to do some prevention. I use this in the morning and before I go to bed at night and the difference is truly noticeable. I used it solely for puffiness, not dark circles or wrinkles and it does the trick for me. The applicator is awesome too.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
trieu
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
will give your wrinkle noticeable
When I apply this on my eye area , wait for few minutes all my wrinkles around my eye will be deepen and looking very scary.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
MAGGIEMEXICO
Location: SAN DIEGO, CA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014
BYE BYE PUFFY EYES!
I DONT SUFFER FOR HAVING TO SHOW MY EYES AFTER A PARTY NIGHT!! THIS IS ALL I NEED!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
aat11
Location: Dallas
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
not what I expected
It doesn't help much with the dark circles, makes skin very shiny. The only way it works for puffiness is by making them white color with sparkles. Waste of money unfortunately. The shine effect makes things even more noticebale for your eyes. Any concealer would work much better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Krisberre
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
AMAZING!!
Best For: bags under eyes, adding hilight to under eye area
I get so many compliments and this is why!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Huifang
Location: West Lafayette,IN
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2013
Best Mascara Ever
I usde it,and I think it can anesis my dark cricle.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
jayme
Location: Colo
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013
It's no EYEZONE REPAIR GEL
Sorry. Nothing compares to the product it replaced, Eyezone Repair Gel. Still looking for something that works as well as it did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Jen1234
Location: Calabash, NC
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Bring back Eyezone Repair Gel
Best For: young girls without wrinkles
Like many other companies, you get a wonderful product and then discontinue it. I used Eyezone for many, many years and it always kept my eyes looking youthful. Nothing has worked for me since you discontinued it.
If you don't bring it back, I will never use Estee Lauder again.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Kookie
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2013
Good Eye illuminator
Best For: black under eyes
This product helped refresh my under eyes and reduce blackness. I strongly recommend it. It reduces swellings and gives a fresh start to my day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
GinaMarie
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2013
Not as good as the previous
I was skeptical about this product after using the previous formulation for years. While I do find the tip cooling, the dispensing system leaves much to be desired...oftentimes more concealer comes through the tip than needed and you have to be very careful how you hold the tube or you end up with a ton of concealer dispensed. I also do not like that it is tinted.
I preferred the previous formulation and pump dispensing over this version.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Cath
Location: Québec,QC
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2013
Tout simplement le meilleur !
J'ai essayé plusieurs contours de yeux. Celui-ci fait tout ce que j'aime: illumine le regard, enlève les cernes et les poches et finalement, camoufle mes ridules. Je le recommande.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
cogitoergosum
Location: Vail, CO
Age35 - 44
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2013
just not good
Best For: people with no fine lines, worn alone (without makeup)
I bought this on a whim while vacationing. BIG mistake. Because I was away from home, I cannot return it to the store and am stuck with it. I have passed it around to various women in our family with everyone receiving the SAME result: thick, sticky, glue-like product that not only makes makeup look horrible worn with it (applied before or after, it makes NO difference) but within 30 minutes is so caked in fine eye lines it is hideous. Not bad...AWFUL. Once it settles & cakes, only scrubbing will get it off again. I love Estee Lauder and am appalled to know this product is even sold by them. The tip feels good and is easy to use. But why use it? I would urge everyone to just try Spotlight. It is cheaper and much prettier when applied. it is not specifically for eyes, but actually does highlight well.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.