Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint

Rating:
(2.886 out of 5)
(
2.9
 out of 
5
)
(44 Reviews) 43
 20 out of 4445%of reviewers recommend this product
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Review 1 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
WonOver
Location: Uhrichsville, OH, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2015
Durable yet different
Best For eyeshadow base color, when it just has to last all day
I am very pleased with this product as a base color. It is creamy, dries very fast, and doesn't budge until it gets washed. Not easy to blend, but as a long lasting base, it is easily a 5 star product. I use the Contour Shadow Brush 30 with a dabbing motion to apply Pure Color EyeShadow over the top. It takes some practice to get used to a different application method, but patience has paid off with intense, beautiful color that doesn't fade or melt off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Loreliep
Location: Downers Grove, IL, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2015
Eyes Pop Color
This shade made my hazel eyes pop. Very good for every day or you could dr. it up and use it for going out. It takes a while for me to get used to a cream vs. a powder but I am making it work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
SheriD
Location: Sacramento CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015
glad I gambled!
Best For daily wear
I am very surprised to see this is a 2.7 star product at time of my review (2/24/15). I purchased this product while on vacation a few weeks ago. I bought Pink Zinc. I have had a blast using this in a few different ways and have worn it daily since I bought it. Worn alone and with shadow patted over the top you can layer and increase intensity as you please. It makes my whole face brighter and truly stays put until I remove it at night. Looking forward to trying a few more shades.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
AvaB
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2015
Long time fan
Best For dry lids.
Ardent Estee Lauder user. This shadow has a "new" feel and texture for a cream. Like the soft, creamy feeling. But, does not go on as smoothly as I would like and drys very fast, making it hard to smudge and blend. Hope EL can improve upon that issue.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
dreneac
Location: Nevada
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2014
Great shimmer
Best For those without crepey lids
I've used this product for a couple of weeks now and it has really lived up to the claim of no creases and long wearing. I'm not sure sure why other reviewers have an issue but can only think they may not be using an eye shadow brush to apply it. Even if you get too much on you just keep smoothing with the brush and it gets lighter. You are really able to get a good contrast of color where you want it and the shimmer is subtle but definite unlike other powder shadows that sprinkle shimmery dust onto your face when applying and then fade as the day wears on. I only have two colors but I will be trying the other colors too.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
geribay
Location: cape girardeau
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
geribay
Product does not go on evenly and what does go on smears and evaporates. You have to add a dry shadow over the top to make it adhere to eyelid. So rare to get a EL product that dose not work. I used and loved cream shadows in the "old days". sad
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
IEF69
Location: Broad Brook, East Windsor, CT, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
Pure Color Stay-on Shadow
Best For everyday wear, dramatic evening
I purchased one color to try and I fell in love and now have a total of three. Great base with enough shimmer to wear alone or add more for a dramatic look. And it really did stay on all day without creasing or smearing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Ladylucky
Location: Presque Isle, WI 54557, USA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2014
Worst eyeshadow I ever purchased
I can't believe how bad this eyeshadow is! I ordered it on-line, applied just a small amount to the base of my lid with a natural bristle brush, and it just clumped in the middle. I tried smoothing with my fingertip, and it just smeared like cake. Terrible product. What happened to the DoubleWear creme eyeshadow?? Now that was a great product.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Lanea
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2014
Sad
Please bring back the double wear ShadowCreme, this product doesn't compare.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Beautifusammygirl1
Location: Marstons Mills, MA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014
Best For every day wear
This shadow paint is creamy, goes on well and stays on until you remove it with waterproof eye remover! I have bought it in the past- it is my favorite! Pink Zinc is the perfect shade if pink.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Bullet45
Location: Sheboygan Falls, WI
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
Poor replacement
I've purchased the Doublewear in every color they made. Great colors; great wear ! What have they done? I'm not afraid of color; so I thought these new
colors would be fine. Very disappointed in wear time and application of this new formula. Please bring back DoubleWear!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
vlss
Location: canada
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014
eye shadow creme
I hate the new cream the color is too young for
me please bring back the double wear !!!!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
MicheleBeck
Age35 - 44
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013
Very disappointed on many fronts....
I am very disappointed with the product and with EL's decision to discontinue the double wear product we all seemed to love. Even more disappointed that, while I left a previous review, EL deleted it
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
JenniferMarie
Location: Ohio
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Not My Favorite
This is the only Estee product I am in love with and will not buy anymore of. It was not smooth at all on my eyelid. When I bought it, I was not told that I had to use my fingers to "melt" the shadow, but I don't like using my fingers for eyeshadow. I will always love Estee Lauder products, I just wish they would get a different cream eye shadow formula, because I am a huge fan of cream shadows.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
dtor
Location: New York
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2013
VERY DISAPPOINTED! PLEASE BRING BACK DOUBLEWEAR!!
I went to buy my beloved Doublewear shadow only to find out it was discontinued. I tried this new product and really wanted to like it but I absolutely HATE it! It is too sparkly and the product does not hold up as well as the Doublewear! I always got compliments on my eyes with my Doublewear shadow and it stayed on all day and night without ever creasing or looking any less fresh than when I put it on in the morning. I did stock up on one of the colors as soon as I found out it was being discontinued but I just couldn't find the other color anywhere. Very unfortunate for me because that was my main color. Please, Please bring the Doublewear back. I have read many of the other reviews and I am not alone in my feeling about this!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
tyanne
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2013
liked the old one better!
They recently re-formulated this shadow line and it flakes onto my cheeks throughout the day like crazy! Super bummed because It goes on nicely with a brush, and I am able to blend it perfect for a great smokey eye, but when I look in the mirror after only an hour, it has flaked on to my upper cheeks, and since i have oily skin, it just turns into a total mess when I try to brush off the flakes.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
CKB2014
Location: Texas
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2013
Pure Color creamy eyeshadow
I have worn the creamy eyeshadow for several years using the color Mochachino (I think that is the name). Loved it! I went to purchase another jar yesterday and I was told that it had been discontinued. I was shown the new Pure Color products which I found garish and way to bold. I did purchase the Chained color thinking that it might work. When I put it on this AM, I didn't like it at all. I plan to return it and look for another brand with a more subtle color. I do not recommend this product. I also noticed that the jars are smaller and price is higher. You are outpricing my budget!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
REDLOVER
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2013
GREAT COLOR
Best For anyone who loves bright colors
I OWN THE COLOR POTS IN PURPLE, LIGHT PINK AND BLUE. I LOVE THEM. THEY STAY ON ALL DAY WITH NO FLAKING OR DISAPPEARING. I ALSO LIKE THE DOUBLEWEAR TOO. I AM USUALLY A POWDER EYESHADOW USER, BUT NOW AM CRAZY ABOUT THE CREAM EYESHADOWS. WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE COLORS, GOLD WOULD BE GORGEOUS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Clover01
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2013
Not as good as the double wear cream
Best For nothing
I threw the halo out. I thought it would be a substitute for the discontinued pink one but not even close. So sad. These colors are good for you if your side job is a clown.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Livvy
Age18 - 24
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2013
Worst Ever, Bring Back Double Wear!!
I have been using Estee Lauder products for years and have had no complaints about my products, except for this one. I used the Double Wear shadow bases for years, and was SO disappointed when I learned they were being discontinued. I owned almost every shade and wore one daily. They NEVER creased or flaked, and a little product went a long way. If I used a little bit, it was enough. The little pots of product have lasted me almost two years. The Pure Color Shadow Paints are awful. I tried many different application techniques, but it always flakes and creases. I even keep my eyes closed until it is completely dry, hoping that might help. But no. I am extremely unhappy with how this product performs, and the color selection is subpar. Too much glitter and colors that are too bright. It is also impossible to blend colors together-- I don't want my entire eye area one color. I absolutely HATE this product and am SO upset that Estee Lauder discontinued the Double Wear. They kept the neutral shade, which I still use, but it is such a hassle trying to find colored bases or paints. I will be switching to another line to find a product similar to Double Wear. Estee Lauder, please re-think this new product and bring back Double Wear Eyeshadow Base. You have one, VERY unhappy customer here, and many more elsewhere. I will not recommend this product to anyone.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.