Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint

Rating:
(2.743 out of 5)
(
2.7
 out of 
5
)
(35 Reviews) 34
 14 out of 3540%of reviewers recommend this product
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Review 1 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Beautifusammygirl1
Location: Marstons Mills, MA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014
Best For every day wear
This shadow paint is creamy, goes on well and stays on until you remove it with waterproof eye remover! I have bought it in the past- it is my favorite! Pink Zinc is the perfect shade if pink.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Bullet45
Location: Sheboygan Falls, WI
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
Poor replacement
I've purchased the Doublewear in every color they made. Great colors; great wear ! What have they done? I'm not afraid of color; so I thought these new
colors would be fine. Very disappointed in wear time and application of this new formula. Please bring back DoubleWear!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
vlss
Location: canada
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014
eye shadow creme
I hate the new cream the color is too young for
me please bring back the double wear !!!!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
MicheleBeck
Age35 - 44
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013
Very disappointed on many fronts....
I am very disappointed with the product and with EL's decision to discontinue the double wear product we all seemed to love. Even more disappointed that, while I left a previous review, EL deleted it
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
JenniferMarie
Location: Ohio
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Not My Favorite
This is the only Estee product I am in love with and will not buy anymore of. It was not smooth at all on my eyelid. When I bought it, I was not told that I had to use my fingers to "melt" the shadow, but I don't like using my fingers for eyeshadow. I will always love Estee Lauder products, I just wish they would get a different cream eye shadow formula, because I am a huge fan of cream shadows.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
dtor
Location: New York
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2013
VERY DISAPPOINTED! PLEASE BRING BACK DOUBLEWEAR!!
I went to buy my beloved Doublewear shadow only to find out it was discontinued. I tried this new product and really wanted to like it but I absolutely HATE it! It is too sparkly and the product does not hold up as well as the Doublewear! I always got compliments on my eyes with my Doublewear shadow and it stayed on all day and night without ever creasing or looking any less fresh than when I put it on in the morning. I did stock up on one of the colors as soon as I found out it was being discontinued but I just couldn't find the other color anywhere. Very unfortunate for me because that was my main color. Please, Please bring the Doublewear back. I have read many of the other reviews and I am not alone in my feeling about this!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
tyanne
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2013
liked the old one better!
They recently re-formulated this shadow line and it flakes onto my cheeks throughout the day like crazy! Super bummed because It goes on nicely with a brush, and I am able to blend it perfect for a great smokey eye, but when I look in the mirror after only an hour, it has flaked on to my upper cheeks, and since i have oily skin, it just turns into a total mess when I try to brush off the flakes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
CKB2014
Location: Texas
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2013
Pure Color creamy eyeshadow
I have worn the creamy eyeshadow for several years using the color Mochachino (I think that is the name). Loved it! I went to purchase another jar yesterday and I was told that it had been discontinued. I was shown the new Pure Color products which I found garish and way to bold. I did purchase the Chained color thinking that it might work. When I put it on this AM, I didn't like it at all. I plan to return it and look for another brand with a more subtle color. I do not recommend this product. I also noticed that the jars are smaller and price is higher. You are outpricing my budget!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
REDLOVER
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2013
GREAT COLOR
Best For anyone who loves bright colors
I OWN THE COLOR POTS IN PURPLE, LIGHT PINK AND BLUE. I LOVE THEM. THEY STAY ON ALL DAY WITH NO FLAKING OR DISAPPEARING. I ALSO LIKE THE DOUBLEWEAR TOO. I AM USUALLY A POWDER EYESHADOW USER, BUT NOW AM CRAZY ABOUT THE CREAM EYESHADOWS. WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE COLORS, GOLD WOULD BE GORGEOUS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Clover01
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2013
Not as good as the double wear cream
Best For nothing
I threw the halo out. I thought it would be a substitute for the discontinued pink one but not even close. So sad. These colors are good for you if your side job is a clown.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Livvy
Age18 - 24
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2013
Worst Ever, Bring Back Double Wear!!
I have been using Estee Lauder products for years and have had no complaints about my products, except for this one. I used the Double Wear shadow bases for years, and was SO disappointed when I learned they were being discontinued. I owned almost every shade and wore one daily. They NEVER creased or flaked, and a little product went a long way. If I used a little bit, it was enough. The little pots of product have lasted me almost two years. The Pure Color Shadow Paints are awful. I tried many different application techniques, but it always flakes and creases. I even keep my eyes closed until it is completely dry, hoping that might help. But no. I am extremely unhappy with how this product performs, and the color selection is subpar. Too much glitter and colors that are too bright. It is also impossible to blend colors together-- I don't want my entire eye area one color. I absolutely HATE this product and am SO upset that Estee Lauder discontinued the Double Wear. They kept the neutral shade, which I still use, but it is such a hassle trying to find colored bases or paints. I will be switching to another line to find a product similar to Double Wear. Estee Lauder, please re-think this new product and bring back Double Wear Eyeshadow Base. You have one, VERY unhappy customer here, and many more elsewhere. I will not recommend this product to anyone.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Khaleesi
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2013
Why...?
Please bring back the Doublewear shadow. It was well-crafted and long-wearing. This flaky, short-lasting product is a travesty and an insult to customers. I feel betrayed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Texrn
Location: Texas
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2013
Who's Responsible For This???
BRING BACK DOUBLEWEAR! The only thing this does is flake glitter over your face. Why on earth would someone take a great product like the doublewear shadows and replace it with an inferior product? Guess who's no longer spending money at the Estee Lauder counter?
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
MaryMT
Location: Kerrville, TX
Age65 - 74
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2013
Get rid of the sparkles
As an older woman I love this product as it doesn't cake up in my creases. Easy to apply and forgiving if you get too much on. HOWEVER, the sparkles need to go!!!!! Or just tone them down - they stay on forever!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
MyNameisHelen
Location: New Jersey
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2013
Too much sparkle!
I would absolutely LOVE this product if it wasn't for all the sparkles contained therein. I bought the sinister which is a beautiful deep black that even I can wear. It can be worn dramatically but it is also a bit forgiving when blended with lighter eyeshadow shades. It stays put, which I love, but the sparkles make me crazy. I just tried it on again to play with it and see how I could make it work for me. I removed it, but there are still sparkles all over my face - forhead, eyes, cheekbones. I hope EL fine tunes this product to make it more accessible for everyone. I love the intensity of the shades and the fact that it is a cream and long wearing but for me personally the sparkles are a deal breaker.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
monicat
Location: Dayton OH
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2013
worst ever - bring back doublewear!
I tried this product with an open mind because I liked the colors (pink zinc). The first time I used a brush to apply...it flaked off. The next day, determined to have it work for me, I tried applying the shadow with my finger.The results were the same. Not only does the shadow flake off, it got into my eyes irritating them, coated my eyeglass lenses, and with all the flaking, I looked like I had pink sparkly circles under my eyes. This stuff is awful!
Doublewear was perfect - blended well, lasted all day, even in the heat of summer, and removed easily. Please bring it back!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
RedheadGlam
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2013
Dare to Go Back to Double Wear
When my favorite Estee Lauder consultant told me that Double Wear cream shadows were gone, I was aboslutely blown away! I have been using Estee Lauder products for forever, and I swear by them! My Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation and eyeshadow lasted me through a two-week trip to a theme park in June! People were sweating, and my makeup was flawless! And now I found out that I can't get it anymore! Please bring it back! These new shadow paints peel off. I tried one, and it started coming off in flakes! Estee Lauder products have always been the best! Please fix these shadow paints or bring the old ones back!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Ruth1022
Age25 - 34
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2013
Not as good as the Double Wear Shadow
I went to buy my favorite Double Wear cream shadow and was told they are not carrying it anymore and this was the replacement. It is not as creamy or thick as the Double Wear and not in the same color. I am disappointed that I spent the money on this product. Bring back my Island Sands Double Wear!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Anemona
Location: Victorville, CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2013
Pretty colors, bad formula
I had a chance to try this paint shadow at the counter and I'm glad I didn't bring it home. It's so sad to leave a bad review because I love most of the EL products. This one... hmmm love the dark grey color (think it's sinister) but after 15-20 min it started to flake off! Not for the people who wears contacts because it gets everywhere. Another reason I wouldn't recommend it - I had to really rub my eyes with makeup remover (EL made) and it's just not what you want for your eyes. Sorry but it's the worst product I ever ever put on my eyes :-(
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pure Color Stay-on Shadow Paint
Loesonline
Location: Zwolle, the Netherlands
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2013
stunning effect
I really love this product. I got the color STEEL to test it because i'm an ambassadrice of Estee Lauder. This shade gives you a stunning look, with a little black dress and high heels. apply the shadow with your fingertip otherwise it get s a mess... Colors are really cool. It gives u magnetic smokey eyes...
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.