Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Fresh Skin Compact Makeup

Rating:
(4 out of 5)
(
4
 out of 
5
)
(12 Reviews) 12
 9 out of 1275%of reviewers recommend this product
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Review 1 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
UpstateNYLady
Location: Brockport, NY
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Outstanding Coverage
I have to say that this foundation provided beyond expectation coverage. Quite literally every little red/blue spot on my face disappeared. It is very "dense" coverage. The little brush is really quite good. I read of the brush shedding in other reviews, but it certainly did not shed for me at all. It spreads the foundation quite flawlessly. I think I would have loved this foundation except the color simply wasn't right for me. Also, with this foundation, I saw lines in my face that I have never seen before :(. I was disappointed that the lines on my face were far more prevalent with this foundation. This foundation is excellent for a young firm skin - 20 to 40 year olds- and those who have no lines. I don't recommend it for someone like me who is over 65.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Laurjf40
Location: East Northport, New York
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2013
Best foundation ever
I have never used a creme foundation, but because I was so thrilled with the summer palette and the fall lip glosses and palette I had to try it. I love the buildable coverage, I love the color, I love the dewy appearance it gives my skin and of course the packaging is stunning. Kudos to Aerin for redefining modern makeup!!! Can't wait to see what is next......PS order came with a sample of Modern Muse fragrance...what a perfect match!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Mooty
Location: Southern California
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2013
Really Perfect
Best For portability, everyday use
Wow, what a great product! I once tried a drug store compact makeup that was heavy and sticky, but this is light and dewy. (A little powder can give it a more matte look.) The very soft brush helps to feather on a light amount while blending it. I found that I like to apply a thin layer, then apply more under my eyes and in my red areas, then blend a little more overall. What surprised me was that it seemed to fill in a slight crease between my brows, which I have from squinting in bright light, creating a younger look. Added bonus. The finish also seems a bit illuminated without that annoying pearly finish some products have. I have a fair-with-freckles warm complexion and use level 1. I would say this product is warm or neutral. If you have rosy cheeks, I'm not sure which shade would work. I'm also glad to have a foundation that can travel with me in the makeup kit I carry in my purse. :)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Cocopea
Location: Park City, UT
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2013
Beautifully Sheer Coverage
I don't like a full face of makeup, I prefer to even out specific areas and cover up the occasional spot, and this foundation is perfect for just that. It has a nice slip to it, it blends easily on the face and doesn't mask, it simply helps to diffuse whatever I want to hide. It also has a texture that works really well for dark under eye circles. I have oily skin, and this doesn't add shine or make me breakout, which is a relief. I've used the brush a few times and don't have a complaint about the quality of it, but I do admit that I prefer to use my fingers to apply. In fact, I didn't realize the compact came with a brush, and the lovely high quality of the foundation is the real gem here, not the brush. As always, the packaging is stunning. I use level 2 on my light skin with yellow undertones, and it's a near-perfect match.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Autumn1000
Location: SF, CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2013
Best Foundation
I really like this foundation because the color (Shade 2) matches my skin perfectly. (FYI, Shade 3 has a pink tone.) With one application, it won't cover the flaws, but will enhance what you already have. It is build-able. It glides on easily and I like the wide flat brush which makes application very easy. The consistency is dewy so I double it as a concealer. I may have found the best foundation ever!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
LULUTN
Location: east tennessee
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013
WHAT IS THIS???
Best For no one
I really wanted to like this. The foundation has a very thick feel to it - like dermablend {for scars } . It is so thick and heavy and has no slip to it. I tried to use the brush given- the foundation just sits on the skin and you have to forceably move it on your face. Its feel and thickness is like no other stick or pan I have used before. Skip it ...
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
KateR
Location: Iowa
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2013
Great Foundation... not so great brush
I was SO hesitant to buy this foundation because I wasn't able to see it in person before I purchased it and there are virtually no swatches online... anywhere. Anyway I decided to take the plunge and luckily it I really like it. I purchased Level 1, and it's definitely lighter and more yellow toned than how it appears online. The foundation had great buildable coverage and it feels really light on the skin. As for the finish, it appears to be more natural than a matte finish. The one drawback is the brush. I read the reviews on this website about this foundation and you guys weren't kidding about this brush shedding. Although the brush sheds like no other, I like the shape and how it applys the makeup but the amount of hairs that you find all over your face afterwards is a bit crazy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Shijie
Location: Washington, DC
Age19 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2012
Excellent
Considering it is the only foundation in this product line, it has to be good. So I tried, and it turns out I was right. Very good coverage, yet natural looking. Very long lasting for oily skin. The brush is a problem, it sheds. I just use my other foundation brush. I will definitely recommend this product!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
CTIrvine
Location: Irvine, CA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2012
Excellent Foundation!
This is a wonderful foundation...excellent coverage without feeling heavy on my face. Shade 2 is perfect for my skin tone. The packaging is very nice, even the little brush works well to apply the foundation. Also great for travel.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
WisconsinMommy
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2012
The Makeup itself is wonderful. It gives nice coverage, and feels nice on. However the brush that comes with it to apply it is horrible. It sheds. A lot. I'm on my second compact, (the first was too light, so I'm keeping it for winter), and I've had the same problem with both brushes. The bristles come off, They stick to your face while applying. They come off and stick in the makeup in the compact. Its hard to get them out because of course its a cream makeup. I really would have expected better quality from Estee Lauder. I will use the two I have. But will not order it again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Dilynn
Location: New York, NY
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2012
Dewy
This foundation is great. It is a dewy finish, not dry and cakey. The brush is excellent for application. No dirty fingers or bacteria in your product. I will confess that i have a true peaches and cream complexion so not sure how it would cover acne but for my ridiculously dark undereyes, works like a charm.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fresh Skin Compact Makeup
Winona
Location: Milford, CT
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2012
I gave it a go, but....
Shade Level 1 is a good neutral balance for very fair skin. The finish was not powdery, but a bit waxy.
The brush was a very good size and nicely tapered to get corners around your nose, etc. However, it shed quite a bit. Perhaps the shedding would reside on further use, but I just didn't care enough for the foundation to give it a second chance. The little suede pouch was nice, but I would prefer to store the brush in the compact.
Returned it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.