Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Estee Lauder.

Estee Lauder Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15

Rating:
(4.566 out of 5)
(
4.6
 out of 
5
)
(76 Reviews) 74
 70 out of 7692%of reviewers recommend this product
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Review 1 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
ReginaH
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2012
Amazing Foundation!
I have semi-oily skin and prefer a fuller coverage foundation. This one goes on smoothly, blends and covers well, and lasts all day!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Glisten
Location: Northeast, PA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2012
The VERY BEST Foundation!!!!!
I have been using Double Matte Foundation for nearly 10 years, and i absolutely love it. The coverage is medium to full and it is buildable. I apply this over Time Zone cream, and my makeup stays put and fresh looking the entire day. I dont have to touch up or blot .My skin looks flawless. I only wish there were more shades, because I have to buy two and mix them. PLEASE do not discontinue this foundation.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Annd
Location: Winter Haven
Age65 - 74
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2012
Best Makeup for OILY SKin
Best For great coverage
I am 66 years young and have been using this makeup for all the years it has been available. Love it! It is the only one I have found that keeps my oily skin under control. I was recently told by a cosmetic rep at a local store that it was going to be discontinued. No way. Please this is the best for coverage and oily skin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
MsMaddie
Location: SAN DIEGO, CA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2012
Best Foundation Ever!
I have been using Double Matte Foundation for at least 10 years. It is the best foundation for controling oil and for full coverage. It stays on in all weather, during sports and looks flawless. I cannot believe that they are now discountinuing this foundation. I know that I will never be able to find another foundation like this one. PLEASE DONT DISCONTINUE!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
JLeBron
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2012
Double Matte... a dream come true!!
Best For smoothing out your complexion
I am a 45yr old mother of 3 and my complexion is just not what it used to be but with Double Matte I feel younger again or at least my skin looks younger. Love it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
dezzy
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2012
awesome!
This is the best foundation ever. I have extremely oily skin, and have tried ALL the other expensive brands with no success. Been using this for 10 years now and will not wear anything else. The finish is flawless, and coverage is max. And it stays on my skin all day and all evening.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
JStang
Location: NC
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2012
Excellent For Oil-Control, But...
Best For oil control, matte finish
I love this foundation. It keeps my oily skin more matte than any other foundation I've ever used, but the color selection is lacking as far as the lighter, cool-toned shades. Cool Ivory is just a tad too dark on me in the summer, and it is definitely way too dark in the winter. I really wish that Estee Lauder would offer more color options in this particular foundation, because the Double Wear foundation just does not work near as well for me and my oily skin. Please make more light shades!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
shameri
Location: forest,va
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2012
best coverage for all my spots luv it
Best For face
i was diagnosed with rhumatiod authoriyis 2 yrs ago getting hard to make a trip out to the mall to get my makeup i have ordered my make up online twice and very pleased how fast the delivery came luv estee lauder been using this product for years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Kaybee
Location: Philly, PA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2012
At last!
Best For Oily Skin
I have a very greasy face, producing several gallons of oil daily. It feels that way at least.
I have tried all sorts of lotions and powders to no avail. By an hour after applying makeup, my face is swimming with oil. So, I went to the mall and spoke with a consultant at the EL counter. She gave me a 10 day supply of the double matte foundation and it worked!
I have to blot my face only toward the evening, the foundation is buildable and matches my skin perfectly.
EL, please keep up the good work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
degausser
Age19 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2012
So dark!
I wish they would get more shades of this foundation. I have very fair skin, and the "cool ivory" was probably four shades too dark. It actually looked laughable - I had to wash it off before I left the house. It was very dark and orange...I honestly don't know how they could call it any kind of ivory. I would love to try this in a lighter shade!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Catfish
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2012
Double Matte Oil Control Makeup SPF 15
It is the best. Please don't quit making it. I have not been able to purchase at local stores for the past several months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
greenfaerie
Location: East Lansing, MI
Age19 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2012
Needs more shades!
Based on the colors shown on the website, I took a chance and ordered this foundation in Cool Ivory, as I am quite pale. However, this shade should really be called Medium Tan. It's incredibly dark and orange, to the point of being laughable as an 'ivory'. I'm so disappointed, because I do need a good mattifying foundation and had heard great things about this one. I do hope that EL will expand their shade selection, but in the meantime I will have to return this. There's just no way I can make it work unless I'm invited to a Jersey Shore-themed party.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Rosiebee
Location: Orlando, Fla
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012
good coverage
Best For older women
I like the way it goes on. Very good coverage and no shine. Lasts all day and evening. Makes my face feel very soft and moist
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
malli
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2012
Best foundation on the market!
Huge fan! I have worn this makeup for 12-13 years It offers full coverage that does not rub off or wear off. It does not feel greasy or cakey. It sets and is the perfect base for the rest of my makeup. I have over the years cheated on the double matte and tried other foundations and absolutley no other compares. I am ask all the time what kind of make up I wear .
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Heather14
Location: Lenoir NC
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012
Liquid Gold!
Best For any age women who want awesome coverage!
I call Double Matte foundation LIQUID GOLD! I love this foundation so much. I work a very physical job and this foundation does not sweat or rub off. I switched from the regular double wear over to double matte when i realized how oily my skin was. Double matte is a great makeup for your light days and heavier days. This foundation keeps my skin clear and smooth. I would love to try the double matte press powder over the liquid and see how smooth it looks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
camsgal
Location: Lancaster, PA
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2011
disappointed
I have been wearing the Double Wear foundation and I really like it. However, I have pretty oily skin, so I thought I would try the Double Matte to help further control the shine. I found it was nice, but too drying. My pores ended up looking larger and I didn't find any significant difference in the oil control from the Double Wear. As the Double Wear conceals my pores well, I will be returning to it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
Harper
Location: New York
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2011
Probably good for others, but not for me.
First off, I want to emphasize how very oily I am. I am 29 years old and to this day have not found a foundation or powder that can keep the oil my skin produces at bay for more than 3 hours. I had a lot of hope for this product, and being a first time Lauder foundation user, I decided to go with this over the Double Wear because of the specified oil-control.
I am /extremely/ oily and sensitive skinned. I have a decent amount of shine only 1 hour after washing my face with oil-control wash and use of both tea-tree toner and moisturizing lotion. This is on days I don't need to put on makeup right after the shower, mind you. The summer is just awful. I don't wear eye makeup aside from mascara because it is flat out pointless. I am /that/ oily.
What I love about this, however, are the coverage and the fact that it makes my skin look beautiful without looking cakey on my skin. I have medium-sized, visible pores, so a primer is still necessary. I am not prone to excessive break-outs, but the few times I have had a few pimples, this does a decent, though not amazing job of covering them.
I will not be buying it again, however, simply because for me, it isn't remotely budge-proof, nor oil-controlling. If I'm moving around and active, I have shine breakthrough within a couple hours.
For anyone who has more normal oil-production, or combination skin, this is probably going to work very well for you. If you are always in search of something to control your oil, however, I would not bother trying.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
JBernadette
Location: Atlanta, GA
SkintypeOily
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2011
Great for Oil-Control
This foundation does a great job controlling oil over long periods of time. I have really oily skin, and I used to use Estee Lauder's Double Wear foundation. I like both of these foundations, but I definitely think Double Matte does a better job controlling the shine throughout the day. However, I still have some shine with this foundation, but it's not as bad as it is with other foundations. I really like the look of this foundation on me; a small amount goes a long way b/c it does go on matte--it's not for the people who like a very sheer look. When I don't want such a matte look, I use the Doubel Wear. The negative about this foundation is it doesn't feel very natural after it's applied on your face. (Minor detail: I don't like the kind of bottle it's in, but it's fine because I use a foundation brush.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
simmy
Location: midwest
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2011
didn't work for me
I used Double Wear for years, then based on reviews tried Double Matte. I should have known better than to try something else. I expected great results, but got none. It goes on weird, I am shiney after 2 hours, made my pores look HUGE, and it turns darker than when first applied. I am going back to Double Wear. It keeps me shine free for 4 hours and does not change color on me. It does budge, it comes off on my shirts when I take them off, so it does not stand up to the claim of being "stay-in-place". Double Wear is the best for my oily skin, Double Matte made the appearance of shine worse. Try Double Wear instead of Double Matte.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Double Matte Oil-Control Makeup SPF 15
JLIS1982
Location: Fresno,Ca
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2011
Wonderful staying power!
Best For acne scars, Oily Skin, skin discoloration, birthmark, large pores
First of all I would like to thank Estee Lauder for making this wonderful foundation suitable for my oily and acne scar skin. This foundation helped cover my acne scars and helped made my face stayed matte. A little goes a long way. I even use it to conceal any body blemishes that I have and I love it! I hope Estee Lauder will keep this foundation forever and please don't change the ingredients to HD or mineral because trust me those HD foundations I've tried does not compare to this foundation. Please give this foundation a try if you suffer from any facial scars or discoloration you will not regret it. Thanks so much!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.