Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Matte Perfecting Primer

Rating:
(4.577 out of 5)
(
4.6
 out of 
5
)
(137 Reviews) 129
 126 out of 13792%of reviewers recommend this product
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Matte Perfecting Primer
Review 1 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2016
Best Matte Primer
I LOVE this stuff. The matte primer keeps me matte all day. I use this under my Double Wear foundation, topped with a setting powder, and I don't have to touch up at all throughout the day.
I do wish I got more in the tube for the price, but I can't complain too much since this primer actually does what it's supposed to.
I will always have this on hand. I tried the other primer (non-matte) and will be returning it because I got shiny & oily very quickly. This matte primer is perfect for me!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: CA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2016
Matte primer
Best For use before applying foundation
My favorite primer!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2016
Smooth skin
Best For all
Great coverage.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2016
Matte Perfecting Primer
Best For before you apply your make-up
I love this product, my face looks so much smoother.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016
Its ok
Best For average normal skin.
I found this primer to be pretty average. If you don't have trouble with oiliness it would work great for you, but for my skin its just okay. It's hit or miss. Nothing was really outstanding.
I do not recommend this product
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Estee Lauder:By Beauty AdvisorEstee LauderApril 7, 2016
We're sorry to hear you didn't get the results you had hoped for, Mrs Bryant. We'd love to chat with you further so we can share other options we hope you'll love. Click on Beauty Chat for instant advice.
Review 6 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Minnesota
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2016
Stays Matte
Best For combination/oily
I have combination skin. I've tried alot of different products that started out great but by midday made my face look oily. This goes on and actually makes my skin feel soft, I use less foundation and it stays matte!!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2016
Best For all
love the way it makes my make up glad on my face
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2016
Best primer!
Best For everyone wanting matte finish, oily/combo skin
I have a ton of primers and all of them are just ok. This one not only works really well under all the Double Wear products, but every other foundation I have. It keeps the texture smooth and matte, and helps the colors wear truer. A little goes a long way - this is my go-to primer on a daily basis.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2016
So so...
Best For Dry Skin
I got a sample and I purchased a whole new bottle of this primer. I'm confident now that this product is not worth it's price. It's very thick and feels like a mask. Moreover, one has to smear it all over the face really hard in order to avoid white crumbs that form around the nose, face line and chin. It's very uncomfortable to do and causes pain sometimes. Also, when one sweats or produces oil from pores, it shows as dots of accumulated makeup. I am not happy with this product.
I do not recommend this product
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Estee Lauder:By Beauty AdvisorEstee LauderMarch 23, 2016
We're sorry to hear this isn't working as you hoped! It's never our intention to disappoint and we'd love to chat live with you and explore why this may be happening. Click on the Beauty Chat icon for instant help.
Review 10 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2016
Holy Grail Primer
Best For controlling oil & shine
I decided to try this after being disappointed in many drugstore & prestige brand primers that did not work for me. This product smooths skin, keeps makeup in place, and controls oil and shine all day. It is not drying or tacky like some mattifying primers can be. Foundation goes on smoothly & evenly with no pilling. I finally found my Holy Grail primer!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Spofford NH
Age65 - 74
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestYes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2016
Love it!
Best For everyone
Helps my makeup stay on for at least 6 hours. Then some shine appears. Use it as a base for eye shadow. And it works!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Brusly
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2016
This stuff works
Best For priming you skin for foundation
I received a sample of this product when I ordered my double wear foundation and I loved it. I had never used a primer before and I was very pleased with the way it helped my foundation glide on. I have dry skin and did not have a problem with dryness using this. I forgot to use it one morning and I could notice the difference when my makeup did not go on as smoothly. I like it enough that I will be bying a full size.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2016
ehh
I really wanted to like this product, but it didn't work out for me. My face still got oily throughout the day. I tried it on it's own and underneath makeup.
I do not recommend this product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Estee Lauder:By Beauty AdvisorEstee LauderMarch 14, 2016
We're sorry to hear it's not everything you had hoped for, Ange! We'd love to chat with you further and explore why this may be happening. Click on Beauty Chat icon (bottom left of the page) for instant advice.
Review 14 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2016
Wonderful matte primer!
Best For Oily Skin, long wear
This primer truly does what is says - it keeps my face matte without making my skin dry. My skin can get quite oily throughout the day, but this product keeps my makeup looking fresh. I love how my face feels, soft and smooth, when I first put it on in the morning. I had originally tried a travel-sized version of this and was so impressed I decided to purchase the full-size version. I think this will be a mainstay product for me.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Austin, Texas
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2016
Great product
Best For use before putting on foundation
Use this daily before putting on foundation. Foundation goes on much smoother after applying this product first.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Prineville, Oregon
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2016
Pretty Good
Best For Oily Skin
This I would say is a pretty good primer, but I may try something else. I wanted something to use under my Estée Lauder Double Wear liquid foundation that would help me avoid the slight t-zone shinyness I get by the end of the day. Unfortunately this dries me out, which could just be a result of my skin type.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Estee Lauder:By Beauty AdvisorEstee LauderMarch 4, 2016
It's never our intention to disappoint, Brianna. We hope you'll chat live with us so we can help find the product that works best for your skin's specific needs. Click on Beauty Chat at the bottom left to be instantly connected.
Review 17 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Lakeview
Age65 - 74
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2016
Amazing Results
Best For daily makeup base.
I just turned 70 with good skin, but was annoyed with the foundation settling in the fine lines around my mouth after some time. I tried the Matte Primer one time and then immediately ordered a tube. After having a strenuous day, I looked in the mirror and was amazed at how it keeps the foundation in place, not in the fine lines. It is true that you "get what you pay for". A friend told me I looked like I was in my 60's. THANK YOU Estee Lauder.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Charleston, SC, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2016
Perfect
Best For Dry Skin
I love the Matte Perfecting Primer. I use it with the double wear foundation. With a foundation that has medium to full coverage, this primer is a must. Makes skin look smooth allowing foundation to not dry out skin. Love this product and would not use foundation with out it!
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: Spruce Pine nc
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2016
Wonderful
Best For under makeup
This is the best primer I have ever used. I love it.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Location: miami
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestYes
I’m an Estée E-List loyalty member and received points for this review.Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2016
perfect for oily skin
Best For Oily Skin
This product it's perfect for oily skin and it helps make-up last for many hours.
Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.