Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Matte Perfecting Primer

Rating:
(4.312 out of 5)
(
4.3
 out of 
5
)
(64 Reviews) 63
 57 out of 6489%of reviewers recommend this product
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Matte Perfecting Primer
Review 1 for Matte Perfecting Primer
agatha56912
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015
Matte Perfecting Primer
Best For beauty
Under-makeup primer for a smooth, even finish,it makes me beautiful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Angel13
Location: Slatersville, North Smithfield, RI 02896, USA
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2015
Awesome Product!!
Best For everyone, Dry Skin
I tend to have skin on the dry side and this primer made my makeup go on smoother and look better. I believe it even helped with the dry spots I experience. Great product for under makeup!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Matte Perfecting Primer
lovely01laura
Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2015
Wonderful Primer for Oily Skin
Best For Oily Skin, matte finish
I purchased this along with the Double Wear Stay in Place Foundation and I couldn't be happier. I have oily skin and large pores so I am always on a mission to find a primer that doesn't slide around on my face and also helps minimize those pores. I think I have finally found it! This primer is a little thicker creamier formula than others that are more of a gel silicone formula. This might also have silicone in it, but if it does, it doesn't give me that oily greasy feeling that a lot of silicone based formulas do. I have used this with several foundations and it has worked well with all of them, but of course it looks amazing with the Double Wear. I will say that by mid day, I found myself blotting oil from my t-zone, but I have pretty oily skin so it's to be expected. This still performs better than any other matte primer I have ever used.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Matte Perfecting Primer
TxGal
Location: Orange, TX, USA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2015
Feels wonderful
Best For humid areas, all skin types and tones
I love this product ! After trying many primers this one not only does as described it feels like a moisturizer. Never will use anything else. No smell just a flawless and smooth finish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Matte Perfecting Primer
bren51
Location: Williamstown, WV
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
primer
I love this under my makeup.Helps my makeup look creamier.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Matte Perfecting Primer
PhoenixMoonshadow
Location: Rebecca, GA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2015
Not so matte...
Best For soft silky feel, foundation application
I have used this product several times with my Double Wear Light to try and fight the mid-day shine. Unfortunately, this product just don't help. It feels really good and helps my makeup slide on effortlessly but it doesn't stand up to its oil controlling claim. I saw no difference in the oiliness of my skin with or without it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Becky37
Location: Owen Sound, ON, Canada
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
Amazing
Best For Oily Skin
I love this product! Been using it for years, and usually try to buy during the "free gift" events. It's expensive, but thus far haven't been able to find anything remotely comparable. I have very oily skin, and this keeps the oil at bay all day with occasional blots needed. Will continue to use/buy this product!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Ahurst50
Location: Oak Harbor, WA, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2015
Matte Perfecting Primer:Good item-just not for me?
While this product DID shrink my pores and make them less noticeable-loved it when I first put it on; it also left a white-ish film that flaked off as the day went on. Most noted was under my "readers". I also broke out a tad bit. Maybe this product just wasn't for me. I know Estee Lauder as an industry innovator/ leader, and it is unusual for me to have a reaction like this from an Estee Lauder product.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Matte Perfecting Primer
brikay
Location: Fruitport, Michigan
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
matte primer is amazing
Best For everyday night outs
i purchased the matte primer with hopes that it would help prevent my makeup from getting that midday shine from my oily skin. I was really happy, because it did just that! I would highly recommend.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Matte Perfecting Primer
CandaceO
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2014
Best primer ever!
I have tried several primers and have found that the Matte Perfecting Primer by Estee Lauder is the best primer there is. Not only does it leave my make up looking flawless, ensure that my make up lasts all day and all night, and fills in the unevenness of my skin so that my make up glides on, but it also leaves my skin feeling like satin. During my last experiment with a primer from another brand, I just couldn't wait for the tube to be gone so that I could order my Matte Perfecting Primer by Estee Lauder. Ladies, search no further, this is the best primer there is, hands down.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Matte Perfecting Primer
MaxMax
Location: Sr. Louis
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
matte primer
Having only used this product for a few days, I'm still evaluating. Thus far, above average.
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Krisberre
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2014
Amazing! Do not underestimate!
This was my first time using a primer (other than eyeshadow primer) and I can officially say that I underestimated it! It creates a balanced layer which helps protect your skin and create a flawless look. I have used Estee Lauder for years and once I started to use the primer, I got more compliments and inquiries about what make up I used. I have found this to be one of my "Must Haves" and I love to give this as a gift. Its a great way to give a friend a boost while introducing them to a spectacular product.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Lynner
Location: Mooers, NY 12958, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014
Matte Primer
Best For foundation perfection
I can not believe that this would make all the difference in how my foundation would look. I am amazed at how it keeps the color blended perfectly. With the all day Ester Lauder foundation, my skin looks flawless and you need very little. It also lasts all day and night. I loved the trial so much I have purchased it twice already. Keep up the good work, your products are fabulous and will keep trying different items since I don't ever seem to be disappointed!!!
Thanks again!!!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Amanda1985
Location: Poland, Ohio
Age25 - 34
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2014
AMAZING!!!!
Best For combination/oily skin... keeping makeup fresh!
I have tried other primers with no luck. My skin is combiantion, at the end of the day it feels like I'm one big hot mess without this!! My mother used only Estēe Lauder products, I never have. I stole this (haha) sample size from my sister. I put it on in my oily areas and I was amazed!!! It was soft and matte! It went from cream to a powder after it dried. I have tried too faced primed and poreless pure and it felt like vasoline! I am not sure what all the hype is about benefits POREfessional primer is?! I didnt like it at all! I dislike silicone based primers (I don't think this is, but I could be wrong). Everyone is different and everyone's skin is different, but if your looking for a mattefying primer, in my opinion this is the best out there a 10\10 in my book! Another one that's a 7/10 in my opinion is bare minerals primer for oily skin. The only drawback is the price, it's worth it, but you just hate to part with $40 ish+ after taxes! I will defiantly rebuy! Now I know why my mother only used Estēe Lauder products, even my boss tried some of mine and LOVED it!!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Cindy55
Location: Dunkerton, IA 50626, USA
Age55 - 64
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2014
Matte primer
Best For Oily Skin
Purchased this primer after trying a sample and have been very pleased. Have also been using the Clear Difference Serum with this and very happy with the feel of my skin.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Matte Perfecting Primer
SannaFlavius
Location: Frederiksted, St. Croix 00840, USVI
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014
Perfection
Best For Oily Skin
Its pretty simple. You put this on and you can never go without it again. After application, your face will instantly feel protected. Your foundation will adhere to this primer, creating an absolutely flawless finish. And to top it off your make up will last much longer. An absolute must have!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Cindy2011
Location: Tracy, CA, USA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2014
Perfect Primer for combination skin
Best For combination skin type
I have tried many brands' primer and I finally stop trying. I found the one fits my skin very well. I have combination skin and I can't take greasy cosmetics in summer time at all. This primer is not greasy at all and does its work very well. I would recommend it to friends who have combination skin type.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Joye
Location: NC
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Love it! The best ever!
Best For anyone who wishes they looked younger!
After trying the Matte Perfecting Primer sample, I just had to order it! It doesn't take much to cover my entire face. And it never felt so smooth. My makeup just glided on over it like my face was baby smooth again! I had no shine even after being in 90 degree heat outdoors. I highly recommend this product!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Matte Perfecting Primer
juliep
Location: fort wayne
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2014
Primer
This primer is wonderful. It covers and protects my skin. I received so many compliments when I use this product.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Matte Perfecting Primer
Ivory
Location: Chicago, IL
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Holy Grail Primer
This is the only primer that I've ever been able to wear that doesn't break me out. I've been using it for over a year, so I recently decided to try something else and immediately regretted that decision because I broke out everywhere. From now on I'm sticking with EL Matte Perfecting Primer!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.