Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Estee Lauder.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10

Rating:
(3.4 out of 5)
(
3.4
 out of 
5
)
(50 Reviews) 50
50 Reviews  (32 out of 50(64%) customers recommend this product to a friend.)
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Review 1 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
foxxylady40
Location: beaufort
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I do not recommend this product
doublewear stay in place powder
Date:December 11, 2012
I have been using the double wear stay in place powder for the past 6 years and now that it has changed I'm not getting the same coverage. I am highly disappointed with this product. The price is the same but getting like 4g less product and the sponge is horrible. This is the first powder that I have stuck with that long and now I have to find another brand of makeup is upsetting. I will never purchase this makeup again.
Review 2 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5)
jojo1212
Location: Las Cruces, NM
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
LOVE THIS PRODUCT
Date:September 24, 2012
I have used double-wear shell powder for the last 4 years, this had been the best product I have ever come in contact with to be very honest. I am sad to say that every single time I try to buy this, they are always out. How do you expect to keep someone interested in buying or loving your makeup if it is unreliable? I had a wedding to go to and didn't even have the make-up to wear for the wedding, I am very upset by this. This makeup covers like no other makeup and I would certainly recommend it to anyone! The only issue I found with it is the new packaging, the pad is smaller and a different texture, making it harder to apply the makeup and I do not like that at all. The old applicator was way better, and easier to apply makeup with. I sure hope they bring this product back, if not I guess I will switch to using a different company for all of my make-up needs, and I currently buy concealer, foundation, powder, and blush. This is on a regular basis. I hope someone brings this back! If not, I will not be doing business with them anymore.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5)
CARK
Location: Chicago, IL
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Best product Ever - Worst new packaging!
Date:September 9, 2012
This has been the best powder foundation I have found and have been using this for years. I'm very disappointed in the new packaging. For me, the applicator is too small. I had to go buy new applicators and they don't fit in the case. So now, not only do I have less product for the same money it's costing me more money to go buy the new applicators.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5)
AKE12
Location: Houston, TX
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
GREAT MAKEUP- But STOP CHANGING IT!!!!
Date:September 5, 2012
I love this makeup and up until now, it's been the only makeup that matched my skintone perfectly (2W1 Sand). However, everytime I need to replace my compact I can't buy it becuase EL has pulled it all back for "reformulating" or "repackaging". And repackaging means less product at a higher price. Everyone I know that uses this product loves it. As the old saying goes "if it's not broke; don't fix it!"
I'm very disappointed in EL. I love the product, but this is becoming way too much hassle.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5)
cyclingmama
I recommend this product
Still nice but color has changed
Date:August 17, 2012
I have been using the doublewear powder makeup for quite a while. The color of the makeup in my most recent purchase is lighter than previous instances. It would have been nice if EL had indicated that the colors had changed. I do like the compact's separate compartment for the puff.
I wish EL would offer a pretty, refillable compact for this product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
Crayola
Location: Richmond, Texas
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Great Product
Date:August 6, 2012
I love this powder foundation. I live in a very humid area of the country and I sweat a "bunch" - so wearing a liquid foundation is not really an option - especially in the summer. This works great and even when I sweat, it doesn't drip like a liquid would. It has great coverage too.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
Kitty2
Location: La Habra Hts, CA
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
Great Product - Poor packaging
Date:August 2, 2012
I can't say enough about the quality of this product. But, to keep the product from developing a film you need to use a fresh sponge applicator each day. The thin applicator/sponge pad that's packaged with it takes up space that used to contain additional product. Now we have an extra thick compact,a useless compartment and less product.
Review 8 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
gissy
Location: new york, ny
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
disappointed
Date:August 2, 2012
i hate how the the product is less with a smaller sponge, and more expensive. it doesnt have the same coverage!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
cher1
Location: Campbellsville
Age25 - 34
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Pretty darn good BUT...
Date:July 15, 2012
Lemme start out by saying i LOVE this product. Awesome matte coverage for problematic skin--oily, rosacea, slightly acneic. Does wonders over my DW camouflage makeup!! However the pressed powder did not work well (for me) when used alone. Nonetheless, I could never use a pressed powder alone because coverage would be lacking. Still entirely pleased with product and totally recommend it!
Review 10 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5)
TinaLouise
Location: Shalimar, FL
Age45 - 54
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Product Great, case lacking
Date:July 11, 2012
I love the product but dislike the newly designed compact case. The old case was far better plus seemed to hold more product. Having said that, I love the coverage and feel of double wear powder.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
NancyR
Location: Boise, Idaho
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
Double Wear Powder
Date:July 8, 2012
I don't like the feel of heavy foundation on my face. This powder applied with the estee louder powder brush is absolutely perfect. Gives great coverage, feels light and looks great. I use it over their new primer. Great combo!!
Review 12 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5)
LolaH
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
WHY have you changed! :(
Date:July 1, 2012
I have been a faithful user of this foundation for years and I've been so disappointed with the new compact, your getting us to pay more for 4g less and a smaller rubbish sponge! also the formula doesn't even have the same coverage! you need to listen to your loyal customers! I really hope you bring the original back. 2 of my friends have also stopped using this product because of the change. Seems like a lot of people aren't very impressed.
i'd give it a 5 star before change
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
Corrie
Location: Seattle, WA
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I recommend this product
Best Powder I've EVER Used.
Date:May 11, 2012
I use this powder to set my liquid foundation (Makeup Forever HD). The powder is smooth as silk and gives a completely even, natural looking finish. I'm not one for a totally matte face, so I apply it with a light hand and the result is dewy and flawless-looking. It lasts all day long.
One thing that's particularly interesting for me with this powder is that it seems to be self-adjusting. When I first apply it to my face (I am VERY pale and I have the lightest shade) it literally looks like I slapped my skin with a ton of bronzer. However, it gets LIGHTER in 5-10 minutes and it just looks like my skin. This intrigues me. I am not complaining.
All-in-all I love this powder. Five stars!
Review 14 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
Goonie
Location: Indiana
Age35 - 44
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I recommend this product
Great Powder!
Date:April 29, 2012
Best For all skin
I can empathize with all of the reviewers that wish Estee Lauder would not change or discontinue great products that are best sellers. I will FOREVER miss Futurist lipstick in Smokey Topaz and Divine Wine and the skin care line of the early to mid 90's :(. However, I bought this powder and I think it is fantastic!! I did not use the original and this is the first I have tried, so I cannot compare it to the "old". But I love it. It is light, provides great coverage with a smooth finish and the color Fresco is perfect for my light to medium skin. I have normal to dry skin so maybe thats the big difference. It gives me a healthy luminous sheen. Not a shiny finish. Plus NO fragrance wich is a huge +
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5)
SuperSensitive
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Amazing Powder
Date:April 27, 2012
This is the best powder--it goes on smoothly and layers easily. If you are looking for Medium Coverage, this is it. Never having worn Double Wear powder before, I used Estee Lauder's Foundation Finder, Beautiful Skin Studio to attain a recommended color-match. Without going to a department store, I was able to buy a perfect shade!
Review 16 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5)
Dissapointed
Location: Miami, FL
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
Dissapointed with the new Double wear
Date:April 26, 2012
I used this product for more than 4 years and yesterday I went to Macy's to get a replacement, for my surprise the package of the product has changed and the price has been increased since they put less product in the package. NOt only that this morning I found the formula has been changed also...it doesn't have the same coverage the older product had. I'm really deissapointed with Estee Lauder for this change and for sure I won't buy this product again.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5)
LaMaestra
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Sooo Disappointed!
Date:April 16, 2012
I have been a faithful Double Wearer for a very long time. When I purchased this new compact, I was surprised at the new design. There is less product in it and the sponge is horrible . I have such a hard time applying with the sponge. My fingers cramp up each time I use it. I have had to use another sponge to apply my makeup. At the end of an 8 hour day, my face looks oily and coverage is all gone :(. What happened to an oil-absorbing flawless look? I did not have this problem with previous double wear powder.
Estee Lauder, unless things change, you will lose a faithful customer. This makes me so sad, because I've trusted you to provide me with a beautiful look for so many years.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5)
Staceye1177
Location: Midland, MI
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I do not recommend this product
So Disappointed!!!
Date:April 12, 2012
I have used this powder foundation for years and swore by it!!! I wouldn't use anything else, ever. One of these compacts would last me a year and I wore it everyday. I just went in yesterday to pick up a new one and noticed the packaging had changed. I will agree with the other reviewers that I find this style of compacts inconvenient and kind of a pain to use. I also noticed there was less amount of product. I was willing to overlook these changes though due to my love of the fantastic coverage I have always gotten with this foundation. I was so disheartened when I used it for the first time this morning, not only has the packaging changed but so has the formula!!!! It doesn't give me near the coverage my last compact did. Not even close!!! In fact I noticed it immediately when I started applying it so I took out my old compact that had a little bit left and used it on one side of my face and used the new one on the other. DEFINITELY different! I beg you Estee Lauder PLEASE return to the original formula!!!!! I even wore this on my wedding day because it gave such good coverage. There's no way this new stuff compares. I will be returning it and switching to something different with my fingers crossed that in the near future the original of this product will come back to your counters!!!! Don't fix something that's not broke!!!!!!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5)
Candypants
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Ruined a perfect product
Date:April 6, 2012
I have been a die-hard Double Wear fan for at least 10 years and have converted many friends and family members to this product. Even when the economy got tough, I budgeted my teacher's salary to work for this powder, skimping on other cosmetics. However, due to the new compact design and extremely SMALLER PRODUCT for the same price, I am divorcing this item. This sounds dramatic, but it feels like a divorce to me. Devoted fans did not deserve such subterfuge; I would have paid a higher price for the original-sized compact. The extra plastic is a WASTE (which also hurts my green efforts) and the smaller sponge is ridiculous.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Double Wear Stay-in-Place Powder Makeup SPF 10
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5)
miamigirl
Location: Miami, FL
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
GREAT FOR OILY SKIN
Date:April 6, 2012
Best For sensitive skin, Oily Skin
This powder is lightweight but effective all at the same time. I never feel like I have powder caked on my face. Is also great for sensitive/oily skin, doesn't make me brake out or add unwanted shine. Just the right amount of coverage!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next»