Product Reviews

Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator

Rating:
(3.48 out of 5)
(
3.5
 out of 
5
)
(125 Reviews) 119
 82 out of 12566%of reviewers recommend this product
Sort by: Customer Reviews for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Review 1 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
IS44
Location: Switzerland
Age35 - 44
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2014
Beware! seriously whitening!
I loved the texture with its cool ceramic applicator, I loved the luminous colour with its subtle golden glitter and the optical effect it produced, perfect for fair skins, I loved the fact that it reduced fine lines and puffiness, so far so good...
BUT, and that is a big BUT, after using this product for only a few days, my entire eye area turned dramatically lighter in colour, almost as white as a sheet of paper.
I am already very pale, but the contrast between my eye area and the rest of my face was shocking!
I stopped using the product immediately but my skin took several weeks to get back to normal.
I have informed Estee Lauder Switzerland about this problem as this is the country I reside in, but I was simply told that they'd never heard of any such thing.
I am now informing Estee Lauder USA that this problem exists, and could happen to other women.
Your statement: "Use it every day and your entire eye area looks more than a shade lighter" is in my opinion underestimating the power of this concealer, which can, in fact, be dramatically whitening.
Perhaps what happened to me is quite unique, but I felt it right to inform you, and other users, of my experience.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Eirini
Location: Bonn, Germany
Age35 - 44
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
Completely ineffective!!!!
This does nothing for puffy eyes! It's just a ridiculously expensive concealer. The eyes still look puffy but with some glitter on them. I am extremely disappointed as this is an extremely expensive product.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Katie1371
Location: Fresno, CA
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2014
Puffiness Be Gone
Best For puffy eyes
Love this stuff. I have super puffy eyes. They're really puffy in the morning and night and only slightly puffy during the day. My mom has them bad, and my grandma has them worse so I knew I needed to do some prevention. I use this in the morning and before I go to bed at night and the difference is truly noticeable. I used it solely for puffiness, not dark circles or wrinkles and it does the trick for me. The applicator is awesome too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
trieu
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
will give your wrinkle noticeable
When I apply this on my eye area , wait for few minutes all my wrinkles around my eye will be deepen and looking very scary.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
MAGGIEMEXICO
Location: SAN DIEGO, CA
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014
BYE BYE PUFFY EYES!
I DONT SUFFER FOR HAVING TO SHOW MY EYES AFTER A PARTY NIGHT!! THIS IS ALL I NEED!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
aat11
Location: Dallas
Age18 - 24
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
not what I expected
It doesn't help much with the dark circles, makes skin very shiny. The only way it works for puffiness is by making them white color with sparkles. Waste of money unfortunately. The shine effect makes things even more noticebale for your eyes. Any concealer would work much better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Krisberre
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
AMAZING!!
Best For bags under eyes, adding hilight to under eye area
I get so many compliments and this is why!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Huifang
Location: West Lafayette,IN
Age25 - 34
SkintypeDry
Using Estée Lauder For2 - 5 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2013
Best Mascara Ever
I usde it,and I think it can anesis my dark cricle.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
jayme
Location: Colo
Age45 - 54
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013
It's no EYEZONE REPAIR GEL
Sorry. Nothing compares to the product it replaced, Eyezone Repair Gel. Still looking for something that works as well as it did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Jen1234
Location: Calabash, NC
Age65 - 74
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I received a free trial of this product.Yes
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Bring back Eyezone Repair Gel
Best For young girls without wrinkles
Like many other companies, you get a wonderful product and then discontinue it. I used Eyezone for many, many years and it always kept my eyes looking youthful. Nothing has worked for me since you discontinued it.
If you don't bring it back, I will never use Estee Lauder again.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Kookie
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Age18 - 24
SkintypeOily
Skin ConcernOther
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I received a free trial of this product.No
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2013
Good Eye illuminator
Best For black under eyes
This product helped refresh my under eyes and reduce blackness. I strongly recommend it. It reduces swellings and gives a fresh start to my day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
GinaMarie
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I received a free trial of this product.No
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2013
Not as good as the previous
I was skeptical about this product after using the previous formulation for years. While I do find the tip cooling, the dispensing system leaves much to be desired...oftentimes more concealer comes through the tip than needed and you have to be very careful how you hold the tube or you end up with a ton of concealer dispensed. I also do not like that it is tinted.
I preferred the previous formulation and pump dispensing over this version.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Cath
Location: Québec,QC
Age35 - 44
SkintypeOther
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2013
Tout simplement le meilleur !
J'ai essayé plusieurs contours de yeux. Celui-ci fait tout ce que j'aime: illumine le regard, enlève les cernes et les poches et finalement, camoufle mes ridules. Je le recommande.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
cogitoergosum
Location: Vail, CO
Age35 - 44
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernLifting/Firming
Using Estée Lauder For10 - 20 years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2013
just not good
Best For people with no fine lines, worn alone (without makeup)
I bought this on a whim while vacationing. BIG mistake. Because I was away from home, I cannot return it to the store and am stuck with it. I have passed it around to various women in our family with everyone receiving the SAME result: thick, sticky, glue-like product that not only makes makeup look horrible worn with it (applied before or after, it makes NO difference) but within 30 minutes is so caked in fine eye lines it is hideous. Not bad...AWFUL. Once it settles & cakes, only scrubbing will get it off again. I love Estee Lauder and am appalled to know this product is even sold by them. The tip feels good and is easy to use. But why use it? I would urge everyone to just try Spotlight. It is cheaper and much prettier when applied. it is not specifically for eyes, but actually does highlight well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
Lana2
Age55 - 64
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2013
Spotlights Wrinkles!
Best For flawless skin and min. puffiness and dark circles
The only thing going for this is the cool tip feels good. LIke someone else said could get the same thing from an ice cube. It is all downhill after the cooling sensation. The tip pulls on the skin when you use the instructed amount. After applying be prepared to be scared when you look in the mirror a couple minutes later! If you have wrinkles the product settles in them so you have bright white wrinkles!!! If you only have dark circles or slight puffiness it would probably be okay. But not if you have wrinkles and lines... they will look worse than before applying! The only thing I can think is EL tested this product on people with youthful skin without wrinkles and lines and only slight puffiness and dark circles. I think they should re-name this Wrinkle Emphasizer! 62.00 geesh.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
lgk820
Location: Leesburg ,Florida
Age55 - 64
SkintypeDry
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder For5 - 10 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013
So Cool !
I love the way this feels when first applied . Amazing how it is so chilled. It blends very well under the eye and helps cover the dark circles and puffiness I have from allergies..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
NewToEL
Location: UT
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernEven Skintone
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2013
OK for me
Best For dark circles
I love light makeup, not too dramatic. I have dark circles but I don't like too much makeup for my work atmosphere (like a color corrector and concealer). I've been using this for about a week and my dark circles look lighter. I just apply this after my foundation and let it sink in for about 10 mins. Then just apply some loose powder over it, do my eye makeup and done! It is quite pricey though!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
hjwr
Location: Lebanon, NH
Age35 - 44
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For1 - 2 years
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2013
Verdict pending...
I have used this product for almost 2 weeks now - going to give it more time, but thus far have noticed no improvement in puffiness or black circles under the eye.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
KatherineS12
Location: Darien, CT
Age45 - 54
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernAnti-Wrinkle
Using Estée Lauder For20+ years
I do not recommend this product
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2013
Please bring back Eyzone Repair Gel!!!!
This product is not a substitute! Nothing was as good as Eyzone Repair Gel. If you guys won't bring it back, perhaps you could sell it to another company to produce and we can all start purchasing from them instead! I have been searching high and low for a replacement with no success what-so-ever. Has anyone found something that compares? If so, please let the rest of us know. Thanks!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator
sashy
Location: AZ
Age25 - 34
SkintypeNormal/Combination
Skin ConcernPrevention
Using Estée Lauder ForLess than 1 year
I recommend this product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013
Great for dark circles!
Best For dark circles
This product is excellent if you have dark circles. The cooling tip is a great extra perk with this. Just wish it didnt cost so much.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.